Please recommend a streamer

Discussion in 'Music Streamers' started by danmc_82, Apr 20, 2016.

Tags:
  1. danmc_82

danmc_82

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,107
    I'm new to streaming and currently use my PC and play via a Yamaha AV Amp.

I want a stand alone unit which has built in Hard Drive, good user interface, LCD/LED screen is a bonus.

It doesnt have to RIP cd's directly but doing so would be nice. Anything for around £200-£300?

I dont want to use cloud/itunes/anything like that - just a unit to store my FLAC onto :)

2. Streamer16

Streamer16

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +24
    Your amp has Musiccast. Have you considered just getting a NAS with DLNA compatibility? (Or even one without DLNA compatibility.)

It should be well within your budget, even including a large hard drive.

To buy an AV product with a built-in hard drive seems like a step backwards to me.

3. danmc_82

danmc_82

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,107
    Lol like I said im new to streaming :D

I have been looking at wireless hard drives, is that classed as NAS?

Anything you could recommend? I dont mind streaming from a pc, id rather have something seperate and not have to have the pc on all the time.

4. Cebolla

Cebolla

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +248
    It's certainly worth trying streaming music files from your PC, if only to try out the streaming capabilities of your Yamaha AVR.