1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Please help!

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by John Watts, Jan 13, 2002.

1. John Watts

John Watts

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +80
    Sorry to bug you all but if anyone can help please do i know its a bit of a boring thread for some of you but im a beginner in need.
    Please help with Denon 3801 problem!
    Hello all i wonder if anyone can help me with a problem i have?

I own a Denon 3801,
    my equipment ie (dvd vcr sky) are all connected to the amp
    and i just use the moniter out from the amp going to my tv (Sony rear pro)
    untill today i just used a composite cable with no problems other than the quality obviously. Well today i removed that composite cable and put in a new s-video to scart (all 21 pins connected) but the signal is not getting through to the tv.
    Any ideas? do i need to tell the amp im using the different cable if so how? i ran the cable from my dvd player straight to the tv just to check the cable was ok and it worked fine.
    I would be gratefull of any help,thank you.

2. Doubledoom

Doubledoom

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Running all the video through the amp is not always the best way. More and more people are avoiding this and routing it all via the tv (except the digital audio).

If you do insist on having lower video quality by routing if via the amp, you need to make sure your s-video to scart lead is the right way round. These are usually one direction only.

3. LV426

LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    Whilst I don't disagree that in theory, what you say is true,