1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Please help,

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by MikeKay1976, Feb 15, 2005.

  1. MikeKay1976

    MikeKay1976
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    6,442
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,299
    My housemate baught the following telly
    phillips 37PF9946/12

    however it doesnt have component in. It does however have a VGA in, so i baught a progressive component - vga console / dvd adapter

    The TV has the following modes in PC mode....

    Supported Display Resolution
    Computer formats : 640 x 480, 60, 67, 72, 75Hz, 800 x 600, 56, 60, 72, 75Hz, 1024 x 768, 60, 70, 75Hz
    Video formats : 640 x 480p - 2Fh, 640 x 480i - 1Fh, 720 x 576i - 1Fh, 720 x 576p - 2Fh, 1280 x 720p - 3Fh, 1920 x 1080i - 2Fh


    however i have tried every setting on the adapter & the screen just comes up with the error unsupported display type & then shut off to standby.

    i tried hooking up to my pc monitor & its great, picture quality is crystal clear.

    the adapter is the following.

    http://www.lik-sang.com/info.php?category=0&products_id=4233&

    it ended up cost 45 quid so it either needs to go back, or i have to get it working. i feel bad as i reccomended this adapter as i felt t was the only way to get progressive scan on his dvd's, thing is i am not really clued in on the video modes, but i looks like the telly should support 480p.

    many thanks for any help, under distance selling regs i think i need to get it back asap if it wont work with this hardware.
     
  2. tamthetim

    tamthetim
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    478
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Perth
    Ratings:
    +6
    according to the experts on here there isn't much point putting out progressive scan to the screen unless your DVD is worth £500 or more as the progressive plasma screen will do it better.

    but don't know why the converter isn't working

    RGB scart direct would be an option just now.

    cheers,tam
     
  3. tamthetim

    tamthetim
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    478
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Perth
    Ratings:
    +6
    also are you sure that prog scan is being outputed.........ie.DVD has prog scan and you have set it to on..................cause your converter says...

    Please Note that this VGA box is only compatible with signals that support progressive-scan modes. Please check the manual for the device you are connecting to ensure it supports progressive-scan.

    Cheers, Tam
     
  4. MikeKay1976

    MikeKay1976
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    6,442
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,299
    well it works fine on my pc monitor & it looks superb! just not the plasma
     
  5. MikeKay1976

    MikeKay1976
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    6,442
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,299
    I found the problem the VGA box was outputting 480p @ vsync 31.4hz hsync 60hz, whereas when i directly plugged my pc in to the plasma the graphics card outputs vsync 37.8hz.

    Any ideas how to increase the vsync?

    Cheers M
     

Share This Page

Loading...