1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Please help with query about floorstanding speakers!!

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by Bigweed, Jun 3, 2004.

1. Bigweed

Bigweed
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi to all the knowledgeable people on these forums. I have about £100 to spend on two floorstanding speakers which will be used with my TV ( a Thomson WB643) and used mainly for DVD's and Gamecube gaming. However, I have no idea what speakers are good and what are not. I also am not sure how to connect them to the TV. I was looking for the type of speakers which are the tall ones and are stood one on each side of the TV. As you can tell I am a complete newbie to speakers. Can anyone give me some advice please?? It would be very gratefully received

Thanks

Bigweed

2. Ian J

Ian J
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    I'm not sure that you can connect a pair of speakers to this TV. Having had a quick look at the spec it doesn't seem to have any facilities for the connection of extension speakers. The pair of audio outputs on the rear panel will only provide a low level signal which needs to be fed to an external amplifier and cannot be directly connected to speakers.

3. Bigweed

Bigweed
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the reply

Do you know what kind of amp I will need, I need it to be as cheap as possible so that I dont spend too much more than £100 for the whole package. I will only be connecting the two floorstanding speakers to it, as the missus doesnt like wires trailing around so I cant have surround speakers. Also, what kind of speakers will be best for this?

Cheers

Bigweed

4. Bigweed

Bigweed
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0