1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Please help with choice on Projector!

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by l33750rz, Sep 17, 2005.

1. l33750rz

l33750rz

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello, I am very new to Projectors. I recently discovered how amazing these devices can be and I would like to purchase one. The only bad thing is I have no idea what type to buy, what resolution, DLP or LCD, how much it should weigh or any other type of questions that I need to know.

This is the situation. The room is approximately 15 ft x 15 ft and I would like to hook it up to my Cable. The Cable Box has a HD Tuner in it and has DVI out, S-Video out, Component out, and RCA out. I would also like to hook up my DVD player with a HDMI cable to it. Please help me out and tell me about how much I am looking to spend and where to get started in my search! BTW: I would like to be able to view HD quality picture from the projector as well.

Thanks~!

2. Anim

Anim

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +59
    Whats your budget?
    Have you ever demo'd a DLP projector before? (Look up rainbows)
    Is the room light controlled or does some light seep in when curtains closed etc?
    Do you want to watch Cable TV in the daytime?

Do you want flexible placement option for your projector? Ceiling mounting helps with keeping it safe from toddlers but costs more for brackets, longer leads etc. Or are you not bothered where it goes?

Do you have a decent sound system already?

Do you want a Pulldown screen, electric screen etc or could you make your own with the correct products?

This will help narrow down your projectors for a start.

3. l33750rz

l33750rz

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    My budget is around $1k - $2k.

Nope, I have never demo'd a DLP projector before.