Please Help Wire My Speakers

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by humax66, Feb 2, 2009.

  1. humax66

    humax66
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    64
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Guys.
    Let me say first off that i know very little about HiFi speakers. So here is my problem. i have a pair of Mission Speakers. On the back it says HF and LF. I also got some cable with them. It says SonicLink Aero Space. 200x2 BiWire. Now could someone please tell me how i wire this up to my Amp please. Do i just plug the red ends in to the red sockets on the speakers and the same with the black ones ? if that's right i take it i just put the twisted wires to my amp.

    Thanks Guys

    PS. the links are to Pictures to my Cable and Speakers


    http://i443.photobucket.com/albums/qq154/humax2/P1000894.jpg



    http://i443.photobucket.com/albums/qq154/humax2/P1000885.jpg
     
  2. StevieBuck

    StevieBuck
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,728
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +674
    Pretty much spot on with that yes - just make sure when you put the other ends into the amp that they also match up with the correct colours (black to black, red to red).
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2009
  3. Showoff

    Showoff
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    3,501
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,237
    HF = High Frequency (Tweeter)
    LF = Low Frequency (Driver)

    Basically yes, but I'd be a little worried using cable that looks like it's been bodged together with tape. :eek:
    Bi-Wire its commonly thought doesn't add much if anything, you could just as easily put one cable to either side and bridge the other (black to black & red to red) like the top two on my MA's (see pic). Hope this helps.
    [​IMG]
     
  4. humax66

    humax66
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    64
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the help so far guys. The tape that was on there i did take it off to have a look. I think it was just put on there to mark it as - and + so you know were to put the wires to the Amp. The speakers also come with 4 short strips of copper or brass wire. Not sure what there for ? Guys why is this cable so thick ? Last time i put some speakers in the wire on them was like bell wire. Is there any other cable i could use that is thinner than this. I do live near a richer sounds and a Maplins. Or is this cable very good stuff and maybe i should keep it.

    Thanks Again

    :thumbsup:
     
  5. Showoff

    Showoff
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    3,501
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,237
    Thicker cable is usually better quality (higher gauge) so as long as its not split anywhere I'd keep it. The copper strips would replace where I have used an extra piece of speaker wire to bridge the terminals (instead of Bi-Wire) you don't need to do both.
     
  6. humax66

    humax66
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    64
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just been working out the cable length. It looks like one of the cables will be to short. Would there be any problem chopping a few feet from one cable and joining it to the other one.
     
  7. Mark.Yudkin

    Mark.Yudkin
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    10,043
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Zurich, CH
    Ratings:
    +1,542
    No problem. Just solder and isolate.
     
  8. humax66

    humax66
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    64
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for all the help guys. Going to get them wired up tonight. Is it ok to twist the wires together first. Then solder them.


    :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2009
  9. Showoff

    Showoff
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    3,501
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,237
    Yep.
     
  10. humax66

    humax66
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    64
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Guys

    :clap::clap::clap:
     

Share This Page

Loading...