Please help this novice understand his requirements!!

fatmaradona

Standard Member
Hello all....I'm embarrassed to be posting this as there seem to be a million and one similar threads open on here but none of them seem to be able to help me understand what it is that I am striving to achieve...

My situation is that I am a complete novice at this home cinema/audio sort of thing but want a nice beginner set up to get me into it.

My living room is 15 foot by 12 foot.
My budget is approx. £600 for the whole set up.
My use would be split 70/30 between home cinema and music. My ears aren't discerning enough to appreciate the finer aspects but that might be because they haven't been subjected to it yet!

I'm looking to get the Yamaha DSP-AX763 as the amp/receiver.
I was looking at the Q-Acoustics 1010i but am now starting to lean towards getting a decent pair of front speakers + centre for the time being and then maybe getting some rears + sub at a later date.

What front speakers (floorstanders or bookshelfs) are good at the £200-300 mark?

Would this be a better starting point for someone like me?

If I get a '3-way' speaker, would I also need to get a sub?
Do I need a centre speaker?

I know there are plenty of members on here who know what they're talking about and can help me!!!

Last edited:

ChrisAV

Hi and welcome to AV forums!:)

I can't answer all your questions, but to get you started (in no particular) order

- £600 is a nice budget to get you started, a package like this would start you off nicely (and includes a DVD player):ONKYO DVSP406 DVD PLAYER (MULTI-REGION), TXSR576 AV RECEIVER & WHARFEDALE 9HCP SYSTEM SIZZLER - available from Superfi UK Visit http://www.superfi.co.uk/index.cfm/page/moreinfo.cfm/product_id/4597 for details

but then..

- Yamaha DSP-AX763, great amp (I have one) and the one I'd go for, leaving £320 for speakers