please help this amature!

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by mcnally32, Sep 3, 2007.

1. mcnally32

mcnally32

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +26
    In the next few days i'll be getting sky plus installed and buying a samsung 40" lcd, model yet to be decided. I was originally planning to buy one of the samsung upscaller/divx home cinema things. Model also yet to be decided.

However i really am a total novice, and not only that i'm in a wheelchair to i myself can't put these things together and have to rely on others who are even worse at it than i am.

My quesiton is, i want the sound to go through the tv, not just when playing dvd's. So can this be set up so the sound will work when watching sky and freeview aswell?

Thanks a lot

2. mredvers

mredvers

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +24
    hello.

from what i can make of your post your wanting dvd,sky and freeview to all feed sound into a dvd home cinema system? this is of course very possible!
    the dvd is obvious(if it is a dvd/amp combi) the video feed will come from usually component out into your tv (you will need a component cable) and the sound will just feed straight out with no other connection needed.

if your sky and freeview boxes both have dedicated audio out (usually red/white phono connections or optical) you can feed these into seperate channels on your amp (eg.aux or ext or optical) and then connect through scart or s-video etc for picture into your tv.

if the boxes dont have audio out you can split the signal coming from scart into video and audio using an adaptor.

hope this helps?

any more specific info on your hardware would be good.:)

3. mcnally32

mcnally32

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +26
    Hi there thanks so much for your reply.

I don't think i'll have a freeview box, can't quite figure out why i said freeview.