1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Please Help! REL Q400E & Denon Amp

Discussion in 'Subwoofers' started by Rick1486, Feb 7, 2005.

1. Rick1486

Rick1486
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    A plea for your expert help gang!

After much hand wringing I've got hold of a one year(ish) old Q400E in walnut - immaculate - and on sale or return!

So our system (it is half SWMBO's after all!) as it stands now is;

MISSION 782SE Fronts
    MISSION 78CSE Centre
    MISSION 78DS Surrounds
    REL Q400E Subwoofer
    DENON 2105 Amplifier
    DENON 2910 DVD Player

The trouble is I'm a complete newbie and have absolutely no idea ref. setting up the subwoofer to complement our system. I've read the manual and re-read it and I'm still scratching my head.

I've connected the sub to the amp using a phono lead connected to the amps' sub out connector- easy enough.

What confuses me is the neutrik(?) connector - do I have to connect that as well or is it not necessary? Indeed, can I connect that as well into my amp?

This phase and crossover thing confuses me too - is there an optimum configuration anyone can recommend? And what about the volume - should I need to put it up to halfway or more - especially as this sub is 400w (or is that irrelevant?)

Regarding room placement we are a bit limited i.e. there is a corner between the settee on the window wall and the settee on the long wall (living room approx. 15ft x 13ft x 7'6" high non open plan) - I know the manual says the sub should face the listeners position but I've also read that the bass can be increased by pointing it towards a wall.