1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Please help! Quick answer needed.

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by Quicksilver25, Aug 31, 2005.

  1. Quicksilver25

    Quicksilver25
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2001
    Messages:
    99
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    uk
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have bought a high grade component cable(Mark Grant) to attatch my Pioneer DV575 to my PD6600 (arriving today),but i understand,having never used a component connection before,that it transfers only video.
    What would be the best way to connect audio to the screen if i'm using component for audio? :confused:
    I will also be connecting my Kenwood DTS amp via optical cable to the DVD player.
    Cheers,
    Q.
     
  2. johndon

    johndon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,924
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +88
    I assume that you want to be able to use the speakers from the 6600 rather than having to switch the amp on all the time? Haven't seen one but the 6600 might come with phono in for sound - if it does connect the phono outs on the DVD player to them.

    Alternatively, don't use the onboard speakers of the 6600 and use the amp all the time - this is what I do.

    HTH

    John
     
  3. RHCP

    RHCP
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,313
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +25
    I've got an old sony av amp with no component connection!

    Could i connect the component from my dvd player straight into the plasma then have the sound going through my scart connection to the amp? Hmmmm now i've said it, that seems a bit stupid.

    How else could i get my old amp to work with surround sound, or do i have to buy a new amp with component connections?
     
  4. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,790
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,467
    RHCP

    The only problem you can encounter if you send Video to the TV and Sound to your AV Amp is that the Video Processing in the TV may take slightly longer than the Audio Processing in your Amp.

    Lots of folk on AVForums will have separate Video (YUV to the TV) and Audio (Optical 5:1 to the Amp) signal paths and will have no problems.

    For you the YUV to the TV and Stereo (via SCART) to the Amp should work fine.

    If your Video and Audio do happen to go out of Sync you can install a Digital Audio Delay to get everything back together again; see http://www.felston.com/

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  5. RHCP

    RHCP
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,313
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +25
    Gulp :eek: A bit pricey!

    Might just be cheaper buying a component av amp!

    Thanks for your help!
     
  6. baldrick

    baldrick
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3,365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Providence, Rhode Island
    Ratings:
    +247
    RHCP, I run a Sony STR-DB930, a Sony DVP-N735d and a Sony VPL-HS20. I run the digital co-ax from the 735 to the 930 and component from the 735 direct to the HS20 via the supplied multi-connector cable.

    I don't appear to suffer any problems from this setup. I will upgrade to a component switching amp at some point but I will wait for HDMI to be standard as well....
     
  7. dunsters

    dunsters
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    303
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +7
    Check your systems spec as most AMPs and TVs have SP/DIF these days that deals with this issue completely. The SP/DIF syncs the picture with the Audio as directed by the source so you should get near perfect sync. Some other without SP/DIF TVs have a feature in setup to delay the signal by milliseconds too and finally, if you are using a HTPC there is software for that too that will deal with the issue.

    Cheers:hiya:
     
  8. RHCP

    RHCP
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,313
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +25
    eh?

    i run C3P0 into R2D2 and get jabba the hut! :)

    your gonna have to elaborate a bit for me, i'm new to all this!
     
  9. RHCP

    RHCP
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,313
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +25
    I have the first av amp ever made (the prototype by the looks of it). :)

    A sony TA-VE100, surround sound is good enough for me, but its got no other outputs besides one scart to the telly.
     
  10. baldrick

    baldrick
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3,365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Providence, Rhode Island
    Ratings:
    +247
    RHCP, sorry for only using the model numbers:

    DB930 - Dolby Digital/DTS 5.1 channel amp
    N735d - DVD player
    HS20 - LCD projector

    As far as the SP/DIF (Sony Philips Digital InterFace) goes I thought that was just an optical audio connection and isn't that common on TVs as it would require the TV to have an onboard DAC for audio!?!?

    Going back to the original question, technically you could just run a 'composite' audio (stereo cable) to the screen...
     
  11. RHCP

    RHCP
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,313
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +25
    oh! ok! that easy is it!
     

Share This Page

Loading...