Question PLEASE HELP ME!!!!

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by BADDY32, Jan 24, 2018.

Tags:
  1. BADDY32

    BADDY32
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  2. dante01

    dante01
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    46,349
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +11,134
    DAB radio tuner.
     
  3. BADDY32

    BADDY32
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    but surely thats a good feature, but its £140 less with it? does that make any sense?
     
  4. dante01

    dante01
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    46,349
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +11,134
    Different retailers. One is obviously charging more for the model without the DAB tuner. The prices quaited aren't the suggested retail price.
     
  5. BADDY32

    BADDY32
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Which would you go for then? The £199 or the £337?

    Is this a stupid question
     
  6. dante01

    dante01
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    46,349
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +11,134
    THe same receiver sans the DAB tuner from Richer Sounds who are selling the receiver with the DAB tuner via Amazon:
    Pioneer AV Receiver


    It is cheaper without the tuner.
     
  7. dante01

    dante01
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    46,349
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +11,134
    Not that I use my receiver's tuner, but I'd be more inclined to go with the DAB equipped model.
     
  8. BADDY32

    BADDY32
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don’t either. So the £199 model you reckon?

    The helps much appreciated :)
     
  9. dante01

    dante01
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    46,349
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +11,134
  10. BADDY32

    BADDY32
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Looks like I’m getting the vsx531d. Supports 4K passthrough and hdcp 2.2. Exactly what I’m looking for.

    Separate question- I need to run a 10m hdmi lead from my amp to projector. I bought the attached image, will I have any issue watch sky q 4k?
     

    Attached Files:

  11. dante01

    dante01
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    46,349
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +11,134
    It is generally suggested not to use HDMI cables longer than 8m. The longer the cable then the greater the chances are of you experiencing signal dropouts. THis is more the case with higher bandwidth UHD signals. You may get away with it at 10m, but there's no way to gurantee any cable will work with all combinations of hardware.
     
  12. BADDY32

    BADDY32
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Looks like I’ll suck it and see I think.

    What about 5m hdmi booster 5m hdmi? Do you think that’d work?

    One like the attached pic
     

    Attached Files:

  13. dante01

    dante01
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    46,349
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +11,134
    It is suggested that you use HDMI over fibre optic for long cable runs when convey UHD signals. This is however expensive. A 10m HDMI over fibre cable would cost you close to £200.

    Ruipro Hybrid Fibre HDMI Cable


    Using a repeater such as the one you've linked to is another option though, but one that may not be as effective or neat as using fibre?
     
  14. BADDY32

    BADDY32
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Think I’ll chance it with my £11.99 special then. £200 wow :facepalm:
     
  15. Deeez Nuuutz

    Deeez Nuuutz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Messages:
    5,131
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,128
    Do you definately neeed 10m ? Can get away with 8m by re-routing the cable maybe? If so, then there are other cheaper cables you can use for 4K that have been reported to work at full bandwidth.
     
  16. BADDY32

    BADDY32
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I’d have to remeasure the room again to see. Can you recommend any 8m hdmi’s deez nuts? Lost when it comes to looking for them.
     
  17. Deeez Nuuutz

    Deeez Nuuutz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Messages:
    5,131
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,128
    8m HDMI :
    JuicEBitz® 8m Premium 4K UHD White HDMI 2.0 Cable [HDCP 2.2 Compliant - HDR Graphics - 18Gbps + [email protected]] 24k Gold Plated Lead | Ultra HD | Ethernet | ARC | CEC (8m) https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B06Y36487C/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_iCEAAbCZWFRF4

    I’ve read that this cable works @ 10m :
    4K HDMI 2.0b Cable by Ultra HDTV 10m I Premium High Speed Lead I [email protected] (no stuttering!) I Nylon Braided, Metal Adapters, Ethernet, 3D, HDR, ARC https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B01FXRN074/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_uAEAAbHA2C43E

    I have read from various sources that this works perfectly but it’s 7.5m :
    AmazonBasics High-Speed HDMI 2.0 Cable - 7.5m / 25 Feet (Latest Standard) Supports Ethernet, 3D, Audio Return https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B014I8TC4E/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_QCEAAbAVGCJDJ

    Hope this helps :)
     
  18. BADDY32

    BADDY32
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I kid you not, I took the plunge and got the first one you’ve posted haha.

    That’s without measuring though, so hopefully the 8m will do.

    Thanks for your help, I’ll keep you posted
     
  19. Deeez Nuuutz

    Deeez Nuuutz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Messages:
    5,131
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,128
    Let me know how you get on.

    Worst case scenario it doesn’t stretch and you send it back.

    The 10m one I posted has also worked for a few users so you have a few options there.
     
  20. BADDY32

    BADDY32
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I’ve done a rough measurement.

    Need to go up 2m (receiver to ceiling)
    Across my attic 4.5m
    Down to pj 1m (ceiling to projector)

    Across my attic in a diagonal, so fingers crossed.

    The 8m hdmi is coming Saturday.
     
  21. Deeez Nuuutz

    Deeez Nuuutz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Messages:
    5,131
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,128
    You should be okay then.

    Just a word of caution, and I’m not patronising you or anything, but make sure you’re not putting any additional pressure on the hdmi connections when you fit the cable. Make sure you have a little free play each end so that the hdmi cable can go straight into the port with no stress on the connection.

    Better to find a longer cable than just making the one you have fit badly :smashin:
     
  22. BADDY32

    BADDY32
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    You're making me nervous now haha.

    any advice is welcomed :)
     
  23. BADDY32

    BADDY32
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Got the 4K amp and receiver and the 8m hdmi fit ok.

    Just waiting on sky q coming on Thursday then I should be good to go :)
     
  24. Deeez Nuuutz

    Deeez Nuuutz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Messages:
    5,131
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,128
    Good stuff! Have you managed to fully test the cable?
     
  25. BADDY32

    BADDY32
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    How do you fully test it?

    It works with my sky and PS4.

    Do I need to do a separate test?
     

Share This Page

Loading...