1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

please help me wire up this motherboard

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by newstuart, Jun 8, 2005.

  1. newstuart

    newstuart
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,665
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Northumberland
    Ratings:
    +59
    HI, I have a mother board which has been taken out of a Advent (pc worlds own) MCE3020 model pc. I have found the model number is KT600-M Version 1.02 but I have no idea how to connect all the leads from my new pc case for the following,
    1) power on/off switch
    2) power on LED
    3) reset switch
    4) the new case has imon inside and a VFD screen where do i connect this

    Sorry Im sure this sounds dim to anyone who has built a pc before

    I guess i need a wiring diagram but cant seem to find one anywhere

    any suggestions most welcome :lease:
     
  2. newstuart

    newstuart
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,665
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Northumberland
    Ratings:
    +59
  3. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    18,184
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +5,185
    It probably has a small wiring diagram near the pins for the power, reset, etc.
     
  4. Skunkpipe

    Skunkpipe
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    There's a standard header on all motherboards for Power/reset/HDD etc. this tends to be on the bottom or left hand edge of the motherboard (looking at board with ports at the top)
    It should be labeled on the silk screen HDD, Reset, Pwr etc. etc.
    Polarity of the switches isn't important. It is for the LEDs (although getting it wrong WON'T damage your board); if they don't come on change the polarity.

    As for the Imon - is it USB or parallel? If USB does it have a std USB connector - if so this will connect into the USB port on the back of the PC - if it doesn't have a USB connector but 4 wires this connects to a USB header on the motherboard - this is also a std pinout - but connect this up wrong and you will cause damage
     
  5. newstuart

    newstuart
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,665
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Northumberland
    Ratings:
    +59
    hi thanks for your response

    on the bottom left side as you described there is a header with 9 pins, 8 of which are in coloured pairs
    1st one (green) has "MSG LED"
    2nd one (Yellow) has"HDD LED" thats an easy one !
    3rd one (blue) has "RST Panel" ??
    4th one (Red) has "PWR BIN" I assume this is power on/off but not 100 %
    last is a single black one with nothing printed

    The leads the new case has which need connecting are

    1)power LED(this is in a 3 pin socket although only the left and right outer pins are used
    2)HDD LED (connect to 2nd one in above description i guess)
    3) Power Sw (any suggestions ?)
    4) reset SW (any suggestions ?)

    I then have another bunch coming from next to the VFD screen with a 3 pin plug labelled "D+, D- & VCC" this also has a breakout lead with a plug with "GND" on it

    The USB shouldnt be a problem as there was still a USB lead attached to the old board and the coloured wires matched the ones from the new case so i can just swap the two over
     
  6. Skunkpipe

    Skunkpipe
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    RST is the reset switch (reset SW)
    PWR BIN is the power switch (Power SW)
    MSG sounds like the power LED.

    The D+ D- etc are usb and connect to a USB header on the motherboard. Wires are typically coloured red, white, green black - the header on the motherboard normally takes 2 USB devices and is 'keyed' (one row of 5 pins, one row of 4) - be sure to take note of this when using your old board as a reference
     
  7. newstuart

    newstuart
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,665
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Northumberland
    Ratings:
    +59
    That all seems to make sense, thanks alot for all your help, these forums are so usefull
     
  8. newstuart

    newstuart
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,665
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Northumberland
    Ratings:
    +59
    hi again guys
    right i have the board wired up and when i hit the power switch the fans all start as they should but there is nothing coming from the graphics card. I cant get any image at all and when i plug in a usb mouse the power light on it doesnt come on.

    this is making me wonder if the motherboard is on at all. any ideas on where to go from here ?
     
  9. Skunkpipe

    Skunkpipe
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    is there a 4 pin and a pin pin power connector on the mother board - and do you have both connected up? (what motherboard / CPU is it?)
     
  10. mrmoo

    mrmoo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    515
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    Could you post a picture, it would help us to help you?
     
  11. newstuart

    newstuart
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,665
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Northumberland
    Ratings:
    +59
    hi thanks for the input, I can try to post a picture tomorrow
    I hope this makes sense ?
    the board is a KT600-M
    The processor is a 3000+ AMD


    both have come out of an old advent media center pc model number MCE3020

    The mother board does not have vga out, this is on the GeForce FX 5200 graphics card that came with it.

    I have now put the board back in the original case with all original cables attached to it.
    When i power up all the fans start and the HDD light comes on, i can hear the hardrive buzzing away nicely but there is no image coming from the graphics card and the fan on the card isnt going either, the pc also powers down from the switch as it should

    Im wondering if the problem lies with the card but am reluctant to replace it without being sure its not the motherboard
     
  12. newstuart

    newstuart
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,665
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Northumberland
    Ratings:
    +59
    hi guys I have pictures now but can not post as to large and do not have software to shrink, could i possibly email them to you ?
     
  13. Skunkpipe

    Skunkpipe
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    yup
    jason AT mediapc DOT tv
     
  14. newstuart

    newstuart
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,665
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Northumberland
    Ratings:
    +59
  15. mrmoo

    mrmoo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    515
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    PM me, I'll give you an email address, I can then put it up for you.
     
  16. Crocodile

    Crocodile
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    15,428
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,664
    KT600-M seems to refer to the VIA chipset rather than the motherboard itself. Have another look round the board for more numbers & Google them. Might lead you to a manual.

    Another thing to check is the CMOS jumper. This will be either 2 or 3 pins. If this is left in the "clear" position will will get the exact symptoms you describe - as will a mis-seated card....

    Try disconnecting all drives, USB headers & cards (except graphics) & see if you get anything. If you do, you can then reconnect things one at a time until you find the offending item.
     
  17. newstuart

    newstuart
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,665
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Northumberland
    Ratings:
    +59
    hi all, got the board checked today and it is indeed dead, just bought a new one have slight issue with tv card which i have posted in a new thread
    thanks again for all the help
     

Share This Page

Loading...