Please help me integrate the Yamaha WXC-50 into my set up

AudioJosh

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi,

Any help appreciated here (I'm still learning the ins and outs of Hi-Fi). This is my set up - Cambridge CXA80 and a Marantz CD6005.

I'd like to run the Marantz through the Yamaha WXC-50 pre-amp as I like the tight volume control, especially at low volumes late at night. I want bypass the Yamaha's DAC and use the Marantz's if at all possible. I figure I connect the Marantz to the WXC-50 using an RCA cable (audio out to aux in), but then do I connect the WXC-50 to the Cambridge CXA80 with another RCA cable (pre-out) or a coaxial/toslink cable (optical out)? I assume using a digital cable would bypass the Yamaha DAC but then I'm not sure if the Cambridge or Marantz would be doing the decoding, and using an RCA chain I'm not sure if the decoding would be done by the Yamaha or the Marantz?

Thanks.

Ok... rather a confusing post there sir.

There is nothing to be gained at all from using the WXC between your cd player and the Cambridge amp.

Especially not by adding another preamp to the one already in the CXA.

At the very best, there will be at least a slight loss in clarity.

The best way to connect your player is to the amp directly.

Either using a digital cable (thereby using the Dac in the CXA) or using the analogue outputs from the Marantz.

I’d try both and see if you can detect a difference and then a preference.

( you could connect the CD player to the Yamaha with an optical cable, then connect the WXC to the CXA with analogue cables, but using the WXC in non preamp mode. But that is convoluted and is exceedingly unlikely to be useful. No harm in trying though).

ps, however you end up using the WXC, make sure all of the eco modes are turned off and all of the ‘enhancements’.

Thanks for the reply Paul,