1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Please help me forumers

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by audioman, Jan 10, 2005.

  1. audioman

    audioman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello to all
    First of all , sorry for my bad english :laugh:

    I am about to buy a DVD Recorder and I think I am hesitating between 2 models
    PIONEER 520H
    PANASONIC E95

    I wanted to ask just a simple question about the PIONEER
    I have been reading several reviews (internet, magazines ) saying that the PIONEER has BAD TUNER QUALITY

    Can you help me , those who bought this recorder , to confim those allegations or not

    Thank you very much PIONEER OWNERS

    :smashin:
     
  2. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,198
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,257
    The European Pioneer range does have a very poor internal tuner. However this isn't a major concern as most users would record from external sources such as a Digital TV digibox - and from such sources the picture is reasonable although composite sources can be weak.
     
  3. audioman

    audioman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Rasczak

    How can you explain that this problem is not so mentionned in AV FORUMS by forumers
    I 've got 4:3 analogic TV set , plugged with TV cable, do you think I could have a problem ? Thanks
     
  4. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,198
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,257
    It depends what country you are in as broadcasting standards vary. Whereabouts are you in the World?
     
  5. audioman

    audioman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Paris FRANCE

    Secam mode here
     
  6. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,198
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,257
    I'm not sure - I have little experience with your broadcast quality/signal.

    When you say you are using TV cable do you mean you have a seperate digibox to connect to the DVD recorder? If so then the quality should NOT be an issue. If your referring to connecting by coaxial cable (RF) then it could be an issue - but as I have no experience with Secam broadcasting I wouldn't like to say one way or the other.
     
  7. eddyad

    eddyad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    940
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +9
    I can't see a difference when I switch between a Pioneer 420 and a Sony 32" TV both set to BBC1.
     
  8. audioman

    audioman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok thanks mate

    Is there anyone who can answer my questions about secam reception ?

    Thanks
     
  9. audioman

    audioman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks EDDYAD

    Could you be more precise , thank you very much
    :smashin:
     
  10. eddyad

    eddyad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    940
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +9
    The 420 is connected to the TV by scart. The TV has RGB input cabability and the 420's output can be set to RGB, composite or s-video.

    1. With the 420 set to Composite video output to the TV:
    When I set the Pioneer 420 to channel 1 (BBC1 in the UK) and the Sony TV tuner to the same channel, then I cannot detect any difference in picture quality when switching between the TV's tuner and its AV inout from the 420.

    Also the TV has dual tuners and can show pictures from two sources side by side (but rather small :) ). So I can see both the output from the 420 and the TV's tuner at the same time. There is no visible difference.

    2. With the 420 set to RGB video output to the TV, the picture from the 420's tuner is significantly better than from the TV's inbuilt tuner. It seems that converting the 420's received signal to RGB improves on the TV's normal capability.

    3. Testing s-video means moving a scart at the back of the TV which is rather difficult but generally s-video is almost as good as RGB.
     

Share This Page

Loading...