Please Help me choose the right stuff ?

ashtongate

Standard Member
Reaction score
Hi

Newbie here - I currently subscribe to Home Cinema magazine and need to ask you a few questions.

Sorry if I sound amateurish but I really want to upgrade my AV system.

Currently I have the Pioneer PDP50-HDE Plasma display and a Pioneer “all-in-one” system (I think it’s the NSDV Something, it’s about 2 1/2 years old)

Display is good but I would like better sound.

So – this is what I thought:

1. The JPW Screen 6 Package speakers – as reviewed by Home Cinema Mag in Dec
2. I need a receiver, so is was thinking of the Sony STR-DB790
3. And a DVD Recorder – thinking of the JVC DR-M1

I haven’t got a massive budget but the above sounded OK? Any tips.. Do you think that’s the best receiver to go with the speakers?

Also, where is the most competitive place to buy this equipment?

Thanks people.

What is your total budget for amp and speakers? Are you looking for a sub sat system which will be ok for movies but poorer for music or larger standmount/book shelf speakers for overall quality. What size room is the set up in as you may benefit from floor standers if the room is large? Is the system only for movies or will you be using it more for music and for surround sound formats like sacd and dvd-a?

Thanks M8.. I will be looking to spend around £1,000, it will mainly be used for movies prob 80%, rest of the time for music, my living room is 16 ft x 12 ft, so it's a decent size.. I just chose the JPW speakers cos it had an amazing review in Home Cinema Mag and it's well in my budget £700 (if i shop around i would prob get for around £600 ish leaving room for a Receiver and DVD Recorder) - basically i was going to go for the Sony receiver because that also had a good review but am worried that it might not go with the speakers ? Thanks for your advice m8...