Please help me build my first media room

awalner

Novice Member
Hello all,

First time posting. I am no novice so be gentle please. I have been lurking on this board and it has helped me so much. Such a great virtual community.

I am building a media room. About 18X19. I am not going to close it up until the kids are older, so I have to go in-wall. It is carpeted and is white (which I can change). I will close it off when the kids get older. I have dry wall and the comments will be placed in a nearby closet

So far, the equipment I have decided on is as follows

1. Epson 5030 projector- waiting for 4k to drop in price
  2. L/R probably center speakers- DT UIW RLS II
  3. maybe 4 Surround speakers UIW RLS III (maybe overkill) so may do a lower model
  4. SW (probably 2) either IWSub 10/10 with DT SubAmp 600 or may go external for the subs with a SVS model.
  5. I already have a blu ray which streams, Pioneer Elite VSX 94 VSX-94TXH (may upgrade Have the SC 81 up stairs but need it for 4k) and will be getting the new generation apple tv.
  6. I have about 9tb which are wired of music on hard drives with a lot of HQ Flacs ( back them up but I will need to connect 2 HD at a time with at least 4tb (also does have some movies on it) I use Kodi (XBMC) Or VLC, sometimes Plex.
  7. For the HDs I use Nvidia shield tv but may want something better. I have a Matricom G-Box Q Quad/Octo Core XBMC/Kodi Android TV Box [2GB/16GB/4K] but i never hooked it up
  8. I may use my MSI Computer Corp. GT60 2OKWS 3K-615US;9S7-16F441-615 15.6-Inch Laptop or may buy a mac mini for my HDs all for a HTPC
  9. room has light but getting black out shades and are in the basement (more info can be provided). I will work on the lighting latter but it does have a fire place which should not interfere with the setup (but maybe the sound) I will close it off later when the kids grow up more. They mainly play in the adjacent room around the corner.
  10. may also get a turntable