Please help me arrange my speaker set up

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by AudioJosh, Feb 16, 2018.

1. AudioJosh

AudioJosh
    Novice Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi all, I’m relatively new to the world of surround sound and have had a lot of fun playing around with set ups during the last year. I’m not sure if my current speaker arrangement is optimal though so any tips would be greatly appreciated. Yesterday I purchased a second hand pair of Monitor Audio Bronze 2’s (now my fronts) to go with some Q Acoustics 3020 (surround), Monitor Audio RS1’s (surround back) and Wharfedale Diamond 101c (centre). No sub though, my housemate hates it if I have any bass! These speakers are being powered by an Onkyo TX SR-606 amp (I thought about upgrading but figured is it really worth it?). I sit quite close to the front and centres as I’m at a desk in my bedroom. Just wondered if anyone here would set this up differently? To be honest I think they all sound great in their own way. I’m still getting used to the Bronze’s 2’s though, I wasn’t sure at first but adjusting speaker position has helped. The Q Acoustics pumped out much better bass I thought (for when my housemate was out) so I am wondering would they be better front speakers to accommodate the lack of sub? Although I seem to be getting bogged down in price thinking it must be mad putting the cheapest speakers at the front! I quite like the RS1’s as rears, they sound lovely and clear.

Any help appreciated, cheers!

2. Gasp3621

Gasp3621

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +880
    You got some quite odd setup there mate. :laugh: I mean mixing each channels with different brands. This is not something what would be recommended like ever! :confused: