1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

please help - How do i set up wi-fi in simple terms?

Discussion in 'Mobile Phones Forum' started by newstuart, Feb 26, 2005.

1. newstuart

newstuart

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +55
    Once again i need help !!
    I have a XDA2s with built in wifi - -I have just fitted a d-link router to my home pc and the XDA tells me the wirless LAN is on - what I cant seem to work out is how to go on internet and use Rudeo HTPC controls with it - Im new to the PDA thing so simple explanation most appreciated

thanks guys

2. Dog with 3 legs

Dog with 3 legs

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    First of all, what is "Rudeo HTPC controls".

The XDA2 and IIi are very fussy about which routers they'll talk to over wifi but all is not lost.

Does the XDA recognise the router, is it coming up on the wifi page or is it just saying something like "connecting".

If it has recognised the router, chances are you will need to just re-boot the router and re-set the XDA.If this fails, get the latest firmware for the router. I had this problem with a IIi and solved it this way.

If it does not recognise the router your settings are wrong.

If you're not familiar with pocket PC network terminology it is a pain in the a*** to get it working.

3. newstuart

newstuart

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +55
    thanks for the reply
    Firstly Rudeo HTPC control enables WI FI control of media center pcs

In answer to your questions

On the "wirless LAN manager" page it says connested to network then SSID:default

I named my network Stuart on my pc settings and there is no reference of this on there , I assume by this something is wrong in my settings ?

Im not sure if this is at the PC end or not , I have not set anything on the XDA as im not sure how or what i need to do