• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Please HELP!! Connecting Samsung 1080P TV + HDD DVD

DG_

Standard Member
Hi everyone,

I'm a complete noob with this so please bare with me.

I'm trying to connect the following:
Samsung LE40A556P 40in 1080P TV
Samsung DVD-SH853M HDD-DVD player/recorder

using:
HDMI lead
(AV + RF leads currently connected too)

Can anyone advise me on how I should have this connected please? I have the HDMI plugged into 'HDMI 1' - when I turn the channel to HDMI1 I am told to check the signal cable. ???

So far it plays DVDs but won't record anything. It is connected like this:

- HDMI 1 in TV to HDMI in back of player
- RF lead from external aerial into 'in' on player, then from 'out' on player to TV
- AV (red white and yellow) on side rear of TV into AV on player

Please help. The Player has once gone to 'Auto' mode but couldn't find any channels and I can't get it to 'Auto' again. I have managed to manually find channels using the menu screens.

I'm not sure where I am or what I'm doing wrong to be honest but I just want to check I have it correctly connected as all the diagrams provided contradict each other - I thought I would only need an HDMI?!?

:lease:

bxd

Hi,

Some comments to keep you going until some of the 'experts' show up.

I presume that you're currently using the composite video output from the dvd-r to the tv.

Now, it's always possible that there is a problem with the HDMI cable as these can be a bit temperamental.

Page 23 of the manual says: