Please help choosing DVD recorder for 250

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by chiyoaiki, Jul 3, 2004.

1. chiyoaiki

chiyoaiki

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am looking to buy my first DVD recorder. I have been reading this forum and a few others but still undecided as to which DVD recorder is the best for around 250 pound.

Initially, I was thinking of getting Panasonic E55 but have heard that JVC DMR10 offers a better recording quality. Is it true? How about other bands such as Pioneer, Toshiba, Phillips, etc.?

As a newbie, I don't always understand all the technical terms that were mentions. Please can someone give me the direct comparisions between the models in this price range? How would you rank them in terms of quality, reliability, etc.? What are their pros and cons?

Is -RW important, as E55 doesn't have it?
    Does JVC DMR10 have RGB?

Which model would you recommend me getting? My primarily aim is to convert VHS to digital (but may want to connect to SKY in the future - so RGB is a plus). Where is the best place to buy from?

Thanks.

2. Rasczak

Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,282
    No that's not true. The JVC DMR10 is a good machine but lacks RGB input which means that, for Sky Digital/Freeview recordings, you cannot record in the best picture quality. Accordingly the machine is at a disadvantage.

This depends on whether or not you want to play your day to day DVD recordings on another DVD player. DVD-RW (Video Mode) will play on most DVD players whereas DVD-RAM or DVD-RW (VR Mode) will not. However DVD-RAM or DVD-RW (VR Mode) give you features such as Timeslip, editting and playlists.

Note that all DVD-RAM or DVD-RW machines also have DVD-R recording which is the most compatible DVD format. This would obviously suit you for your VHS archivings.

Models you might want to look at:

Panasonic E55