Please Help: Buying new PC monitor for 360 gaming.

Merx

Standard Member
Hi.

I currently use a 14 inch samsung as my gaming monitor for my 360. It seems a bit small especially compared to my 5.1 dolby digital thats getting pumped out from all directions. So Im looking for a new PC/Xbox 360 monitor.

Now Im on a bit of a budget because I am a student. £200 really is pushing it.

I am currently looking at:
http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/ProductInfo.asp?WebProductID=372871
http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/ProductInfo.asp?WebProductID=417320

Now which 1 of those would be better? I know 1 has a better contrast ratio but how noticeable would that be.

Because Im using the 360 VGA cable I can go no higher than a 19inch (square) monitor with a resolution of 1280x1024.

Now the second 1 down has a DVI connection on it. And I was wondering if I was to use a VGA to DVI converter, would it make a difference for better or for worse.

From this list: http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Prod...Categories=349&FilterManufacturers=&OrderBy=1

Which would be a good purchase. Or is 1 of those Hyundai monitors going to be good enough. Ive read some amateur reviews for the top 1 and people say that it is really good.

I could possibly stretch to 300 if I sat down and talked to my dad. But if you are going to reccommend something around 300 can you please also recommend something under 200. Cus 300 really is a push.

I was told by a friend that you were the guys to come to regarding monitors and the like. So I really hope you can point me in the right direction.

I really am interested to know if those hyundai monitors will be any good though. And if the 1 with the 700:1 contrast will be much better than the 1 with 500:1.

Also must be from scan because its just down the road.

Thanks in advance.

Merx

Standard Member
surley I can just use 1 of those little connectors I use to convert my graphics card from a dvi connection to vga?

Merx

Standard Member