• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Please help an A/V novice!

themagician

Standard Member
Howdy.

I've never had anything fancy in the way of Home Cinema before so have decided to treat myself to a decent setup.

I have spent ages looking for all the components, and I'd just like to get some confirmation from the pros on the following.

This is what I've got my eyes on so far (not set in stone by any means)

TV - Panasonic TX-P50G10B :: Panasonic TX-P50G10B PLASMA

PVR - Topfield TF5810 :: Play.com (UK) : Topfield TF5810PVRt 500GB Upscaling Freeview Twin Digital Tuner

AMP - SONY STR-DH500 A/V Receiver

Now I'm new to the whole idea of AMPS. As I understand it all the inputs come into this and this is then hooked up to the TV via an HDMI cable.

So I would connect the PVR, Wii, Speakers, Computer to the AMP? I've checked the specs and it looks like that would all work with the items I've picked out above.

My PC has an HDMI output, so I figure there's no problem connecting that up to the Amp also - I am very keen on playing videos from the PC -> TV, maybe blu-ray in the future if I get a blu ray drive for the PC.

In terms of speakers, I'm not 100% sure on this. Am I precluded from using any particular type. The number of inputs/outputs for the amp is quite extensive -

ampo.jpg

What kind of speakers should I be getting? Digital / analogue? Will I notice a difference on the majority of stuff? From the above grid I can't even tell what output I'd use for Amp -> Speakers

Can you see anything that would set off any warning bells in your mind (apart from my obvious lack of a/v savvyness)?

Thanks in advance.

Last edited:

davepuma

Distinguished Member