1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PLEASE help - advice for HD - I'm new

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by Rian1988, Jun 25, 2005.

1. Rian1988

Rian1988

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +28
    Hi there,
    I am new to this hd thin and i would kindly apreciate sum advise. I am looking to buy an hd lcd for when sky launches hd and when the ps3 comes out. The tv i'm looking at is the philips 26PF5520D. First question is this a good tv. Second will this display the best hidef pic possible aka 1080i and im not sure if it has hdmi im not fussed about the sound bit as i would have separate sound. But will dvi give stunnin hd picture. Sorry to ask so much.

Thanks Jonny

2. RecordablDVDfan

RecordablDVDfan

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +47
    I'm not one of the experts on here but a 26" tv for HD is somewhat small. Minimum I would say has to be 32" preferably 42". Phlips make good HDTV's though acc to some

3. Rian1988

Rian1988

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +28
    sorry jus 2 say its for a bedroom an to me 26" is plenty

ps ive noticed it has dvi instead of hdmi but it has hdmc (or sumfin) will this be still b good

4. Starburst

Starburst

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +979
    Yep as long as the DVI is HDCP compliant and supports 50hz input you should be fine.

However given the advances in LCD tech and the continuing drop in prices only buy now if you have a real use for the display, you will save money and get a better panel in 9 months when SKY and the PS3 are more likely to exist:)

5. Rian1988

Rian1988

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +28
    thanx starbust, but yeh I think i will get this tv soon plus it comes with a built in freeview tuner!!

6. RecordablDVDfan

RecordablDVDfan

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +47