PLEASE HACK MY YAMAHA?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Player Multiregion Hacks' started by glen61, Aug 11, 2001.

  1. glen61

    glen61
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    DOES ANYBODY KHOW A REGION HACK 4 A YAMAHA S796.<br />OR A S700<br />GLEN61 <img src="eek.gif" border="0"> <img src="eek.gif" border="0"> <img src="eek.gif" border="0"> <img src="eek.gif" border="0">
     
  2. General Skanky

    General Skanky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,251
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Colchester
    Ratings:
    +44
    You are in luck.<br />Firstly look at <a href="http://www.techtronics.com" target="_blank">www.techtronics.com</a>

    Just had a look and found <a href="http://www.techtronics.com/uk/shop/50-yamaha-s700-700-multi-region-dvd-player.html" target="_blank">http://www.techtronics.com/uk/shop/50-yamaha-s700-700-multi-region-dvd-player.html</a>

    Where did you buy it from? If you bought it from Hughes TV then they will do it from the head office at Lowestoft.<br />I have the S795 which is an IC mod simply soldered into the player. Very easy. It's based on the Panasonic 360 of the time. The S700 I believe is a clone of the 350 which had an IC mod. So I can't forsee any problems.<br />The S796 I don't know, but look at the review for it here or in past mag issues. I'm sure they printed the mod for it, based on Philips or JVC technology, can't remember.

    Also try <a href="http://www.dvd.reviewer.co.uk/info/multiregion/" target="_blank">http://www.dvd.reviewer.co.uk/info/multiregion/</a>

    and <a href="http://www.uk-dvd.net/" target="_blank">http://www.uk-dvd.net/</a>

    [ 11-08-2001: Message edited by: General Skanky ]

    [ 11-08-2001: Message edited by: General Skanky ]</p>
     
  3. Stuart Wright

    Stuart Wright
    AVForums Founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2000
    Messages:
    14,655
    Products Owned:
    7
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +10,542
    As far as I know there are no handset hacks for the Yamahas.<br />Hey General and anyone else reading, how about a little bit of loyalty to the forum host sites and mention the Total DVD hack database?
     
  4. General Skanky

    General Skanky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,251
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Colchester
    Ratings:
    +44
    Very sorry. I didn't know about it.<br />I don't read Total DVD. Sorry.<br />But in future I will promote it of course. <img src="smile.gif" border="0">
     
  5. Stuart Wright

    Stuart Wright
    AVForums Founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2000
    Messages:
    14,655
    Products Owned:
    7
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +10,542
    Cool. Hopefully whether or not people read/like Total DVD mag, the website is still regarded as a useful resource.
     
  6. Reiner

    Reiner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    3,316
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +13
    No hacks possible, all Yamaha's require HW modification.<br />So happened to my 700 and my new 796 (which is also RCE compatible).
     
  7. Doma

    Doma
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2000
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Croatia
    Ratings:
    +0
     
  8. Arthur.S

    Arthur.S
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
     
  9. General Skanky

    General Skanky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,251
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Colchester
    Ratings:
    +44
    I'd disagree also. The Panasonic players most definately req. a hardware mod. I believe it was Hitachi models that have a service disc and some Sonys too.<br />If there is a new way to do it I'd be a bit suprised. Especially now as they are out of date as it were.<br />Where did you discover the disc upgrade from?<br />Interested in that one. I know the hardware mod well, as I personally modded quite a lot Panasonic players aswell as the Toshibas of the time, when I worked for Hughes TV and Audio. It was practically a production line with Techtronic supplied IC's we soldered in.
     
  10. Doma

    Doma
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2000
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Croatia
    Ratings:
    +0
     
  11. monsta

    monsta
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Doma, could u email me some details of where I can get such a disk from?

    [email protected]

    Cheers
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice