cleanupkid

Standard Member
Reaction score
Looking for advice please.
I have been using iTunes for several years, have a huge library, and have playlists.

I use a Synology DiskStation NAS drive and have purchased a Cambridge Audio 851N & 851A. Some of my music files are 320kbps MP3 and some are lossless Alac files ripped from my CDs which now live in the loft. I have noticed crackling in certain files (usually on intro and outro of songs) and it seems to be only on iTunes using airplay.
I have used the DS (Synology) Audio thingy and I find this horrifically slow (5 minutes to respond to skip/pause, etc), and maintaining playlists is a horrendous process

Please can someone recommend a good uPnP or DLNA program that I can use instead of iTunes, but must be compatible with the Synology Diskstation and compatible with my Cambridge Audio 851N. I am not worried about iPod or using my phone to store the music. But ideally can import and maintain my existing playlists, though this is not life or death.

Disclaimer : What I know about UpNp players and DLNA I could write on a postage stamp.

Any help is HUGELY appreciated, as this random and seemingly unsolveable crackling in airplay is doing my head in

I am now confused... When we discussed this, previously. , I , we came to a conclusion that the crackling was likely to be an artefact created by using a different ripping program than the one included with iTunes. My assumption was that meta data was encoded along with the music file and that iTunes tried to play this as music....
Are you now saying that if you encode ..rip CDs using the ripping software included in iTunes, that you will still get the crackling noises , when you subsequently play the same music with iTunes? . In your previous response you indicated that an iTunes rip and an iTunes play did not have the crackle.