Please Critique my spec :)

Dave FR PD130

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I've wanted to do this for a while and finally I'm going to bite the bullet! I'd really appreciate it if you guys could take a look at my requirements/spec and suggest alternatives if deemed needed or suitable? Although I work in IT, it's been a LOOOONG time since I looked at building a PC from scratch, so if I've made a stupid mistake below I'd not be surprised! :laugh:

My requirements for my build are the below:
  • Blue Ray Playback 1080p
  • I assume a normal Blue Ray drive can rip Blue Rays? I appreciate i'd need software but i have a lot of discs I'd like to backup and retain on HDD.
  • Audio would be handled by my Onkyo TX-NR609 so would need to go over HDMI and be uncompressed so the amp can do all the work
  • Not fussed about 3D video - gives me a headache anyway! lol
  • I'll be adding a cheap video capture card for CCTV recording with I'd leaving running pretty much 24/7, so would need to be man enough to record video and also play blue ray's at the same time
  • I've also made an Amblone (ambilight DIY controller) so the machine would also need to be able to be powerful enough to handle this software running while the movie is playing
  • I'd like it to be SATA 3 and include 2 x 2TB hard drives which I could setup as RAID1 or similar
  • I'd like USB 3
  • Ideally would like it to run fairly quiet...Xbox 360 is too loud, if that helps determine fans/psu requirements?

Draft Spec at present:

Case wise I'm still undecided but like the look of the Silverstone LC20B, so maybe someone knows of a good case similar to those? Price wise I'd like to keep it less than £100 for the case and PSU if possible.

I'd be wary of the Socket FM2 A4/A6, I don't think they've been reviewed yet so if they turn out to be essentially single core CPUs (i.e. have 1 full piledriver module rather than 2 partial ones) they may be something of a lemon.