1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Please convince me to buy a Projection TV.

Discussion in 'TVs' started by X-Man, Oct 24, 2001.

1. X-Man

X-Man

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm a newbie to this forum.

My dilemma

I really can’t decide on what’s the best option. Originally I had decided to buy a 32inch Widescreen TV either the Philips PW6006 or the PW6515.

After seeing the 40 inch Projection TV’s @ John Lewis last night, she’s quite “happy” maybe I should say ‘happy to allow me’ to buy the Toshiba 43PJ93B.

Because of the sere size of the Toshiba I’ll have to place the TV in front of the patio doors therefore having the sunlight in the background. Will this hinder the viewing of the TV. I’m not too sure if she would like the curtains drawn all weekend.

My only other qualms with a projection are;

Screen Burn – I was reading yesterday that I should have the contrast quite low and avoid watching prolonged broadcast with logos. i.e. Sky news. I think they said that animated logos weren’t too bad. The magazine suggested that I zoomed in on the picture so that the screen logo wouldn’t be present on the screen.

Dust – I was reading a comment from a previous thread that dust can build up behind the projector screen. This is apparently quite normal ?

Bulb replacement – Do they cost from £200 upwards. I suppose there life span is around 4000-6000 hours. Correct me if I’m wrong.

Please answer all my questions as I’m starting to foam at the mouth thinking about having a projection TV. It’s also probably due to me having a month off from work as of this Monday :D :D :D

2. LV426

LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +5,070