Answered Please can somebody explain the true power of my Yamaha ax757se?

BlaezaLite

Standard Member
Reaction score
I've read the manual, guides and who knows what else, but it feels like the more I try to understand it, the more my brain just dissolves. I'm very new to av stuff and would highly appreciate some help.
I've got a Yamaha 757se, 2 Eltax Century 300 and 2Tibo Edge minis, as well as the original Yamaha NS 130 surrounds, but simply don't have room to connect the surrounds as my current accommodation is a room about 10ft x 6ft with a bloody sink in between the eltaxs! I know that I'm running in 4 Ohm mode too, if that's relevant at all?
Please be a little patient with me not understanding these things too well.

Huge "Thank You!" in advance for anyone who tries to fix my "boggle" and e-cookie to whoever guesses what film that's from...

Just tried to upload a pdf of 757se's manual, but won't let me.

Last edited:
So what exactly do you want to know. Sorry It's not clear to me from your post. Are you having an issue at all?

Firstly, don't engage the impedance switching. This will not optimise the AV receiver for use with 4ohm or low impedance speakers and does nothing other than reduce the rail voltage, starving the speakers of power in order to prevent the receiver from overheating. This isn't required because the receiver would put itself into protection mode anyway if the receiver detected its temperature to be encroaching upon levels outside of it operational boundaries. You are effectively starving the speakers of power if you've set the impedance swich to anyting other than its 8ohm default.

You may find this article informative:
Setting the A/V Receiver Impedance Selector Switch

Besides which, your Eltax Century 300 and Tibo Edge minis are rated with a nominal impedance of 4 to 8ohm and not 4ohm. They are not 4ohm speakers.