Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Please advise - Philips 32PW9308

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by bgcm12, Nov 29, 2004.

1. bgcm12

bgcm12

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello everyone,

I am a complete layman in terms of AV equipment and need your advice please. Last week I purchased a Philips 32PW9308 TV (with Pixel View). On Saturday I had Sky+ installed.

Before buying the TV set I read some reviews and the Philips 32PW9308 came out favourably in the ones I read. However, I think the picture quality is RUBBISH (technical term :) ). Whatever program I watch, there is loads of noise and artefacts around the images (particularly text and small shapes) and what should be crisp lines seem pixelated. The problem seems accentuated when watching football.

I have the sky box set up to output RGB to the RGB input on the TV, and I can tell that RGB is obviously better than PAL, so that isn't the problem. Turning off PixelPlus and switching to 100hz scanning improves matters a little - but only a little. I have experiemented with the active display but to no avail.

So please advise:

Is there any settings I can tweak to give a good output?
    Or did I just buy a dud TV?
    Should I be able to return the TV after a week, just because i don't like the picture?
    What TV should I go for really good quality Sky+ viewing for around £500-£600?

Thank you all very much.

Ben

2. bgcm12

bgcm12

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Reading around the threads on here I have picked up a thing or two...

Could my problem with really blocky pictures be caused by the signal i am receiving from sky.

My signal test shows (approximate values):

Input 1 Signal Strength: 70%
    Input 1 Signal Quality: 20%

Input 2 Signal Strength: 90%