1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Playstation 2 and Progressive Scan..

Discussion in 'General Video Gaming Chat' started by museumsteve, Mar 28, 2002.

  1. museumsteve

    museumsteve
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,591
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Nth Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +1,014
    Would you Adam & Eve it..?
    I took a look at a copy (Jap) of Tekken 4 this morning and to my shock horror surprise it stated something about Progressive on the back of the box.
    Excitement set in and I duly opened the manual to check further. Indeed on the inside cover of the book there is a section that tells you that the game (somehow) supports 525p. It shows button presses etc and tells you to change the settings in the PS2 menu (component). I probably wont have a copy myself to try until next week, but this has to be the biggest surprise for me and PS2 gaming since launch.
    I'll be back when I know more...:) Excited..bloomin' right..
     
  2. Richard Harnwell

    Richard Harnwell
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2000
    Messages:
    315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Colchester, Essex
    Ratings:
    +4
    That sounds like good news. I always wondered how the PS2 was supposed to support higher resolutions and/or progressive scan. It makes sense that this would be by use of the component output.

    That 525p sounds odd though. I thought progressive would either be 480p or 575p (but I could well be wrong).

    I can't wait to hear an update on this.....
     
  3. nfordenfield

    nfordenfield
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    Messages:
    625
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think that it is 525p and not 575p, which has someting to do with the lines left on PAL for Teletext, but maybe wrong.

    I am sure that Sony will not be outdone by Xbox.

    What next? an upgrade to walk your dog?

    Nathan
     
  4. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    525p is another name for 480p NTSC progressive scan.
     
  5. zcaps57

    zcaps57
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep. 480p or 525p are the same thing. they are NTSC.

    And.. yes, Tekken4 (NTSC version) does support 480p progressive scan.

    When you boot it up, press & hold "triangle" and "cross" button, and it'll ask if want the game in progressive mode. Select yes. :D You need a Playstation2 component cable.
     
  6. Richard Harnwell

    Richard Harnwell
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2000
    Messages:
    315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Colchester, Essex
    Ratings:
    +4
    Well I never knew that.......,

    Cheers guys.
     
  7. pompeysteve

    pompeysteve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    617
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Portsmouth, England
    Ratings:
    +118
    Does anyone know if the UK PAL release of Tekken 4 supports Progressive ?
     
  8. museumsteve

    museumsteve
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,591
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Nth Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +1,014
    time will tell mate. The UK version is out at the end of the month.

    Another Progressive game is Socom Navy Seals on US PS2 (awesome game) so maybe a sign of things to come..:)
     
  9. NeoBlade

    NeoBlade
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    European Tekken 4 will at least have a 60Hz option... As for prog.scan I very much doubt it because the prog.scan market in Europe isn't very large and the component cables are not on sale over here. Even Monster haven't released a component cable in the UK (unless I've been looking in the wrong shops).

    Thought you guys knew about Tekken 4 and prog scan? Namco gave out the news when the game was out in the arcades or so... Either way its great news and I've been looking at a demo. It was running in full screen so it must have been in 60Hz but it looked a tad slow for some reason... Plus I hate the water effects. Namco should have just modelled liquid mercury instead >_<

    Still not overly keen on the dodge mechanics too since I don't think any game can really rival Soul Calibur but then I've yet to play Tekken 4 at any depth, to see if the dodging really adds to the gameplay or not.
     
  10. mrmc74

    mrmc74
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Messages:
    122
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +2
    You can get a PS2 component cable from Amazon £6.99
     
  11. NeoBlade

    NeoBlade
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Was it the official component lead though? Since I'm on the lookout for one...
     
  12. museumsteve

    museumsteve
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,591
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Nth Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +1,014
    no official one here as far as I know, but Logic 3 have sold their component leads since the day the machine was released.
    I cant stand Tekken 4 mate..I'm not a Virtua Fighter fan but VF4 beats Tekken 4 hands down IMO..:)
     
  13. NeoBlade

    NeoBlade
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oooh! lol I like Tekken... But for me old skool 2D fighters are the best. I don't care what anyone says but for me SFA3 and Capcom Vs SNK 2 are the ones. ^_^
     
  14. jasonb

    jasonb
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    does anyone know where to get any of these either component or -svideo in the uk and if so how much? I'd like to get the s-video so I could hook it up to my amp for switching as some of the other cables look poor quility anyone have any experience of these cables or a good alternative?












    Do or do not. There is no try.
     
  15. pompeysteve

    pompeysteve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    617
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Portsmouth, England
    Ratings:
    +118
  16. NeoBlade

    NeoBlade
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Monster Cables do an S-Video cable for the PS2... Best quality there is at a price - £39.99. Well worth investing in though, but if you don't want to pay so much for quality then theres loads of other cheaper options in GameStation and GAME locally.

    As for Component look at the earlier links, it should be there.
     
  17. museumsteve

    museumsteve
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,591
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Nth Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +1,014
    well, Tekken 4 on PAL does have Progressive Scan option..how bizarre..:)
     
  18. NeoBlade

    NeoBlade
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can you confirm that? If so... ::strokes beard:: Very interesting... All I need now is a PS2 component cable but I'll get that later on.
     
  19. museumsteve

    museumsteve
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,591
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Nth Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +1,014
    yes mate, we got them in stock yesterday and there is an option in the menu and also the instructions on the inside of the cover on how to access it..:) very interesting indeed..
     
  20. NeoBlade

    NeoBlade
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    NTSC prog.scan right? Since PAL prog.scan isn't really "official" yet... Good news though since I can trade in some old titles for it ^_^ Can't wait to see how Jin has changed... although I didn like his previous fighting style.
     
  21. Richard Harnwell

    Richard Harnwell
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2000
    Messages:
    315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Colchester, Essex
    Ratings:
    +4
    I've just managed to get a progressive scan picture out of my PS2 using a SCART lead!

    I've got a Sony 10HT projector, and I have my PS2 connected to it via an RGB SCART lead:

    PS2 -> RGB Switch box -> SCART to R,G,B,s cable -> 10HT

    When playing DVDs on my PS2, I'd noticed that by switching my projector input from RGB to Component, I would lose the green washed picture, and get a high quality image (as PS2 switches to component when playing DVDs). This made me think that the PS2 obviously used the same pins for the R,G,B signals as for the Y,Cb/Pb, Cr/Pr ones, so I tried the following:


    1. Switched the PS2 from RGB to Y,Cb/Pb, Cr/Pr
    2. Switched my projector input A from RGB to component
    3. Bunged Tekken 4 in & held triangle and X as instructed in manual
    4. Selected component
      [/list=1]

      Sorted. My first look at a native progressive scan PS2 game. I haven't yet done a comparison between to non-progressive Tekken 4, but I'm very impressed! The jagged lines I've come to accept from the PS2 on the big screen are gone! I've finally got the smoothness that I had from Soul Caliber on the Dreamcast (VGA connection)!

      I know this may seem like info useful only to owners of a 10HT (/11HT) projectors, but the fact that the component signals can be so easily extracted from an RGB cable must give people alternatives to trying to get hold of the dedicated component cable.
     
  22. pompeysteve

    pompeysteve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    617
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Portsmouth, England
    Ratings:
    +118
    I got my PS2 component cable for £10 inc. delivery
    from www.twocom.net

    Not tried it yet, but will do in a few days...
     
  23. NeoBlade

    NeoBlade
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was thinking about trying prog.scan via scart... but then I've only got one capable input on my TV. Tekken 4 though improves the movement by some margin although getting used to the new low block takes some time. Damn happy to see both 60Hz and prog.scan though ^_^
     
  24. tazpc

    tazpc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2002
    Messages:
    252
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    NORTH BUCKS
    Ratings:
    +4
    Now wouldn't it be good if it could be hacked to output 525p from DVD's.

    :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...