1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Playing DVDs on PW5b

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by maj, Jan 8, 2004.

  1. maj

    maj
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi guys

    I have a technical question. My set-up is that my sky and dvd player are connected via scarts to my video, which is then connected with an s-video cable to the pw5b plasma. The sky picture is fine, but the dvd picture intermittantly goes darker.

    This has only just started happening although i've been using the plasma for some 8 months. Panasonic have told me that it's because i'm connecting through the video, and certain dvd's have this mechanism which prevents copying- hence why the picture goes dark intermittantly!

    I have never come across this before and wondered if anyone else has - they suggest using their tuner box, but so far i have resisted- is there an alternative?
     
  2. Jasonjo

    Jasonjo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,664
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +115
    What you may be seeing is a copyright protection system called "Macrovision" which is designed to stop people copying video data.

    Try connecting the DVD direct to the plasma rather than routing it through the video. This will prevent what you are seeing and probably give you a much better picture...

    Have a search through the forum to see advice on how to best connect a video, DVD and sky to a Panny 5 plasma...

    Good luck!!!

    JJ
     
  3. maj

    maj
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks- that seems to corroborate what i've been told by panasonic.
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,291
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,217
    PW5 do you use the tuner box or not?
     
  5. maj

    maj
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    No i don't use the tuner box- pany have suggested i go through the tuner box instead.

    The issue i have with the direct connection is that it is all wall mounted and the cables are already routed through the wall- so ideally i don't want to have to take it all apart again to connect the dvd directly.
     

Share This Page

Loading...