Playing DTS CDs on DV88+

Discussion in 'Arcam Owners' Forum' started by hazard, Mar 20, 2004.

Tags:
  1. hazard

    hazard
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    137
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cork
    Ratings:
    +3
    Here's a strange one...

    Today I was rummaging through some old CDs and came across two DTS CDs and threw one into my DV88+ for a quick play.

    It doesn't play the way it should - i.e. the way it used to play with my previous DVD player and the one before that.

    My AV amp, a Yamaha DSPA5, doesn't show "DTS Surround" - instead it shows "Pro Logic" (which usually means it is getting a stereo signal) and sure enough I get a muffled version of the CD, coming mainly from front and centre.

    I tried adjusting the audio output settings on the DV88+, ie bitstream/PCM, 96k vs 48k - no change. Tried the other DTS CD and got the same Pro Logic output.

    Just to make sure I wasn't imagining things I transferred the digital coax cable from DV88+ to my CD player, a CD72T, and played it there. This worked fine, the amp showing DTS and all channels present and correct.

    BTW firmware versions are 3.0.0/LT76.


    I guess I have two questions:

    (1) has anyone else tried one of these CDs in a DV88+? Did it work?

    (2) how come I am getting Pro Logic out of the DV88+? Surely the CD contains a DTS stream only and the player cannot decode it. I would expect the amp to see DTS, or nothing. Where is the stereo signal coming from? Very weird!


    Thanks
    Fergus
     
  2. GrahamW

    GrahamW
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2002
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Borehamwood
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the DV88+ and DTS CD's play no problems. My Denon 3802 switches to DTS no problems. Does it switch OK on movies???
     
  3. hazard

    hazard
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    137
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cork
    Ratings:
    +3
    Yes, movies in DTS work fine, never had a problem there.

    I don't suppose it's just the CDs I happen to have? They are Sting "Brand New Day" and Billie Myers "Growing Pains". Do you have either of these by any chance?
     
  4. GrahamW

    GrahamW
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2002
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Borehamwood
    Ratings:
    +0
    hazard, your in luck, I too have the Sting CD and it works fine. Not sure what else to try apart from taking it back to your Arcam dealer. My firmware is 4.0.0/LT75
     
  5. hazard

    hazard
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    137
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cork
    Ratings:
    +3
    Thanks Graham, at least now I know it should work.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice