1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Playing a SACD disc

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by wallasey, Mar 3, 2003.

  1. wallasey

    wallasey
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've got a Sony Amp STR-DB780 and a
    Sony SACD/DVD DVP-NS700 player I've connected using a optical cable when playing DVD's this works ok. I've just bought my first SACD and connected the amp to the player using imput jacks, but I only get sound from one speaker, I've read the manuals and I think everything is set up correctly can anybody offer any help?
     
  2. rjw

    rjw
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    Messages:
    204
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Bath
    Ratings:
    +5
    You need to use analog connections for SACD.
     
  3. wallasey

    wallasey
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I thought the imput jacks were analog the are wired to 5.1ch output to 5.1ch input
     
  4. rjw

    rjw
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    Messages:
    204
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Bath
    Ratings:
    +5
    Ahh, I'd miss read that bit. I presume you are setting the amp to 5.1 channel input?

    Check you have all 6 cables wired up correctly, if you still only get sound from one channel then something is a bit broken somewhere. By swapping connections round a bit you should be able to work out whether it's the DVD outputs, a cable, or the amp input.
     
  5. vee_cee

    vee_cee
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you've connected player to amp correctly, with a 6 phono to 6 phono cable....

    Then all i can think is ..... there must be some setup to do for either the player or then amp or both?

    Worth a go

    Cheers
    VC
     
  6. kelvin

    kelvin
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,544
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Down South... (Bournemouth)
    Ratings:
    +45
    In the DVD players menu there's a section relating to speaker size/distance settings - these are related to the onboard SACD/DD/DTS decoder. Have you checked to see that all speakers are set to small or large as opposed to "off"? The DVD player will downmix the sound to however many channels are activated if you have some speakers set to "off".

    Worth looking at if you are still having problems after trying the above.

    K.
     
  7. roofer

    roofer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    343
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    northumberland
    Ratings:
    +10
    you need to press the input selector on your amp and select the input you require not the coax or optical input the other one
     
  8. stranger

    stranger
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    make sure you select sacd on the dvd player and2 ch or multi ch.
     

Share This Page

Loading...