1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Playback Freezing On Panasonic Dv-Camcorder

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Editing Forum' started by DonkeyDave, Jul 18, 2005.

  1. DonkeyDave

    DonkeyDave
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    62
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have a Panasonic NV-GS11b DV camcorder. When I playback a video to capture on my PC or recordable DVD the video loses a lot of frames. When viewing on a TV the picture freezes for a split second on playback, at least 2-3 times a minute. This also happens on the playback of DV tapes that have been recorded on another DV camera.
    Has anyone got any ideas why this is happening? :confused:
     
  2. kevivrian1

    kevivrian1
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a Panasonic NV-GS50 Videocam.I am unable to playback the recorded video on the EVF as well as a TV.I tried to reset the camera, by pressing the Reset button on the side of the camera.I tried different options on the VCR MENU , but none proved effective.The Counter does not move in both the CAMERA and the VCR mode. We tried running the cleaning tape on the videocam, to clean any fungus on the recording/playback head.Please advise
     
  3. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,393
    Dropped frames during capture are very common and thankfully easily prevented by following the se simple steps:

    Make sure DMA is enabled for your HDD's
    Stop all background programs. I use a free program called EndItAll2 to do this - do a search for it or PM me your e-mail address and I'll forward you a copy.
    Disable power save modes and screen savers.
    Defragment the HDD's
    Make sure you have loads of spare space. DV footage will take up 14Gb per hour of footage, plus more for editing & file conversion. If possible capture to a second HDD that has no programs installed on it - and that includes the editing program!


    Well there are loads more I could suggest, but that should do for now.

    Good luck,
    Mark.
     
  4. DonkeyDave

    DonkeyDave
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    62
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks for the suggestions Mark. The only problem, is that it still does it when recording to a standalone DVD recorder. There's a problem with the playback, organised to send it back. Useful info though, for capturing on PC. Ta.
     
  5. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,393
    In that case - have you tried a different firewire cable? You'll be amazed at how many people solve all/most of their problems by simply replaceing the cable!

    Mark.
     
  6. DonkeyDave

    DonkeyDave
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    62
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I had contemplated that mate, but have yet to try. Will give that a go, thanks.
    Edit* Just played it through the AV leads on the TV and playback seems perfect. Looks like it is the firewire lead. Thanks for the tip! :)
    Saves me sending it back.
     
  7. laser

    laser
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Messages:
    924
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Hartlepool
    Ratings:
    +28
    It could be dirty heads.

    I presume you have cleaned the video heads on the camcorder???
     
  8. DonkeyDave

    DonkeyDave
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    62
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yep, cleaned them, I think like Mark says, it's the Firewire lead, as playback is fine on the TV watching through AV lead.
     
  9. DonkeyDave

    DonkeyDave
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    62
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Well, got a new Firewire cable, but playback is still freezing, lost about 2000+ frames in 4 minutes!!
    Think the camera will be going back :(
     

Share This Page

Loading...