Play-fi soundbar, speakers and atmos/dts-x question

Jasperx

Novice Member
Hey guys, complete noob here, go easy on me :D
Been reading the forum for the past few days and I've decided to go with a cheaper tv and invest in a better sound system instead.

I'd really like a soundbar. I've never owned one and I feel I need one in my life haha. I'm also a tech nerd first and foremost which complicates things and I'm hoping the good people here can help with that. Multi room wifi, bluetooth aptx and hi-res support are a must, airplay is a nice bonus but not a deciding factor. I hate propriatery tech with a passion (I almost went with Denon HEOS before I heard about play-fi), so all those propriatery mesh network products are out of the picture, which would leave me with play-fi. I've honestly never heard of it till now, even though I've known about and wanted a multi room system for years now. That said, it seems to have made significant strides over the years with the addition of hi-res support and gained traction with some big names out there.

I've also been looking at dts-x and dolby atmos support. It's definitely something I don't need right now, but would like to have the option of in the future if it's possible. I know about the "traditional" 5/7.1.2/4 and 9.1.2 speaker setups (I probably wouldn't push it past 5.1.2) and I'm aware that there are atmos/dts-x all-in-one soundbars. My question is, is it possible to use a tradional soundbar with 2 rear speakers for a 5.1 setup (be it a Sonos playbar, Heos bar or a playfi bar for that matter) and add 2 ceiling speakers in the future for the atmos effect? Is it solely a software thing to be worked on or are there hardware shortcomings of such a setup that I'm missing?

Also I'm looking for suggestions on what to get. I'm eyeing the Wren VP3US or VP5US (can they do 24/192? can't find anything) although I've no idea how to source them in the EU yet.