1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Plastering speaker wire into a wall.

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by Mr Bump, Jun 5, 2003.

  1. Mr Bump

    Mr Bump
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +3
    Any issues with this, in terms of interference etc? I want to plaster in the wires for my rears, for aesthetic reasons. :D
     
  2. HotblackDesiato

    HotblackDesiato
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    1,170
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +230
    Interference? None that i've experienced but my speaker wire is chased into plasterboard.
     
  3. Mr Bump

    Mr Bump
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +3
    I have solid breezeblock walls in my house, but it is flat wire, so it would only have to go in half a centermeter or so. I didn't think there would really be a problem, I just thought I better check with the experts first, just in case! :)
     
  4. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    17,628
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +4,546
    only problem is...what happens if you want to change the cables??

    you'd be better putting tubing in the wales, and feeding the cables into the tubing. That way, you could route any cables needed in the future or changing the cables without hassle.
     
  5. Mr Bump

    Mr Bump
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +3
    That doesn't bother me. If I decide to change the cables in a few years and have to re-do it all, no problem - I'd rather do that than have channeling up the wall.....
     
  6. HotblackDesiato

    HotblackDesiato
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    1,170
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +230
    Obvious...but ...just make sure you've no cable breaks... before you plaster... forgot this in my old house... and had to bolster my new plaster off the wall 3 weeks after it had gone up :blush:
     
  7. Mr Bump

    Mr Bump
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hehe. No, they are fine - been using them for a while on the outside - gonna now put they into the wall seeing as I am redecorating anyway! :)
     
  8. menalaus

    menalaus
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Messages:
    338
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    sleepy hollow
    Ratings:
    +6
    there was a tread over in the DIY forum about this called 'chasing plaster etc'
     
  9. bob1

    bob1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,313
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +128
    I did this with the rears, fonts went under the floor,not a wire in site.
     
  10. mumu

    mumu
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is not a problem, I have just done this and it improves the look of the room no end.
    Just make sure that you also pin the cable back (especially near the ends where it exits the plaster) to prevent it accidentally pulling the plaster away.
    Alternatively create a channel in the wall for some conduit and then chase that in with plaster - can even replace the cables without replastering then.
     
  11. Mr Bump

    Mr Bump
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +3
    That would have been a nice idea, but my walls are rock solid, so it was a pain enough to take out the 5mm I needed to do this! Anyway, all done - and you're right - I think it will look miles better. I sodding hope so - it was bloody hard work! :zonked:
     
  12. HotblackDesiato

    HotblackDesiato
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    1,170
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +230
    The conduit i just used at a mates house was thin enough to surface mount on the solid wall and plaster over.
     

Share This Page

Loading...