Plasma's to be phased out in 12mths?!!

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by boingboing, Jun 3, 2004.

1. boingboing

boingboing

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +25
    Finally took the plunge yesterday and bought my first plasma TV (Panasonic TH37PA20 for £1995 from AJ Electronics), after being very pleased with myself I called my brother-in-law and told him of purchase as he is very into the AV scene where as I am just a novice. :p

Anyway, as the heading says he has said that from the magazines that he has been reading they are looking to phase out plasma over the next 12mths and make LCD the premier format. Obviously being a novice and after being very pleased with myself as I thought I'd got a real bargain/good TV I'm now having second thoughts. Do I need to ? :suicide:

Cheers

Pete

2. GrahamC

GrahamC

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +67
    :D balloni :D

3. Elvis

Elvis

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Would it matter if they did? If you're enjoying your new plasma TV anyway who cares whether they're phased out. No-ones going to come knocking on your door and take it away :)

Maybe your brother-in-law is just suffering from p...plasma envy :laugh:

4. Messiah

Messiah

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +338
    Yeah. Just like all the magazines (and Sony, probably more so Sony :) ) said Minidisc was gonna take over from CD.

Maybe you'd like to quote the magazine and then we can all 'av a larf as well :D

5. boingboing

boingboing

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +25
    Must admit thought it was a very strange comment. Normally I'd expect that sort of comment to be a wind-up, but perhaps it is jealousy!

Have I bought an ok unit though? From what I gather from this forum a lot of people plumb for the Panasonic units.

Pete

6. markbigears

markbigears

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +18