Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Plasma Wall Mount - Will it Work???

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by Vinesh, Jun 7, 2004.

  1. Vinesh

    Vinesh
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2002
    Messages:
    776
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +31
    I will be getting my plasma very soon (TMF)

    I have a question about the wall mount option. I currently have a dado rail at 1m high, but I want the plasma to be mounted about 80cm from the bottom of the screen.

    To clear the dado, I can put battens between the wall and the bracket. Will this methotd make it less secure?

    I am looking at the powerbuy bracket.

    Another option is with this bracket:

    http://av-sales.co.uk/plasma/html/universal_tilting_wall_mount.html

    I can have the back plate sitting on top of the dado and screwed into the wall without any battens. As this bracket is 5cm deep, it will clear the dado.I assume the side bits holding the plasma sticks out by 5cm (?). This will give me the required height as well.

    Cheers
     
  2. Vinesh

    Vinesh
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2002
    Messages:
    776
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +31
    Just looked at av-sales site. The second option doesn't support Pioneer screens. :suicide:
     
  3. PC Nut

    PC Nut
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    649
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    South West
    Ratings:
    +65
    If mounting on solid wall ie: Solid bricks/breeze blocks and plaster, it should be fine just use longer fixings. Fixing straight to wall i would use 4 raw bolts of +130mm by M10 allow more length for you battons.
    The above mentioned power buy gives you about 20mm clearence.
     
  4. Vinesh

    Vinesh
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2002
    Messages:
    776
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +31
  5. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    Dear fellow tarmac terrorist, those are the bolts we use generally. Don't order them too big, holes in plasma wall mounts are surprisingly small, usually 6 or 8 mm.
     
  6. scoooby

    scoooby
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
    Always possible to take a drill to the bracket and enlarge/create holes.

    (With care!)
     
  7. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    Certainly, but it's easier to buy the right size bolts...
     
  8. scoooby

    scoooby
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
    Even Easier to get yourself a 5" casio and prop it on your desk.
     
  9. Vinesh

    Vinesh
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2002
    Messages:
    776
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +31
    Thanks for the input.

    Maw - Are these bolts available else where. With screwfix you have to spend over £45 for free P+P. I have already spent loads with them.

    Scooby - Dont like the desk stand.

    This is for a Pioneer MXE-1
     
  10. Vinesh

    Vinesh
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2002
    Messages:
    776
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +31
    Another q Maw-

    What size bolts would you use?

    The slim bracket accepts size 10 bolts, nut sure on the length.

    Cheers
     
  11. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    We buy them from screwfix, I daresay they are available elswhere if you look. Is carriage that much? Our average order is £2-300 so I haven't a clue.
     
  12. Vinesh

    Vinesh
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2002
    Messages:
    776
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +31
    Maw - Any ideas on the length of the bolt?
     
  13. PC Nut

    PC Nut
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    649
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    South West
    Ratings:
    +65
  14. Vinesh

    Vinesh
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2002
    Messages:
    776
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +31
    Cheers PC Nut.

    I will check out B&Q/Screwfix website
     
  15. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    We use 75mm bolts from choice, you'd better extend that by the depth of the packing. It's overkill, so that will be enough even allowing for any extra strain. I have a technician who reassures the customers by doing a few pull-ups on the bracket. We've never had to re mount one.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice