Plasma viewing in harrods

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by tomg, May 11, 2002.

1. tomg

tomg

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am a complete newbie so no flaming.
    Just got back from viewing plasmas in harrods and now I am even more confused. They all seemed very similar in quality, but its very difficult to compare accurately with different DVDs and players being used.
    Saw a BeoVision plasma playing the fifth element and that was amazing but at 12K for a 42 inch plasma is a bit over the top.
    Would this be an experts view, is the BeoVision 42 inch a cut above the rest or was it just configured better?
    Viewed a fujitsu PDS4234E, Panny TH42PW4B, Pioneer PDP433HDE and thomson 42WS90E3. I am not an expert in this and they all seemed fairly similar in terms of quality of picture, but then some were showing broadcast TV, others DVDs etc.
    The TH42PW4B which homecinemachoice magazine recommends did not seem so mind blowingly good as they made out.
    Dont really know what the point of this post is ....
    er, ok here is the question, how do I hook up my SCART devices such as pioneer itv digital box and sharp VCR to a plasma (for DVD I will probably get a tosh 510 DVD so can use component on that?). Also any recomendations on a AV receiver, I was considering a marantz 4200, can that do the necessary switching etc.
    My everyday viewing will be terrestial digital TV and the odd dvd and I was a little underwhelmed by what I saw in terms of tv reception on the plasmas but my lounge is so small a plasma is the best option I feel.
    Also can anyone recommend a few dealers in london where a better side by side comparison can be made. I was going to go up to one in baker st I saw recommended on here but didn't get time today. Any others people recommend.
    cheers for your time,
    tom

2. Mario Nicholas

Mario Nicholas

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +86