1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Plasma V Projector

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Clive Bird, Feb 1, 2003.

1. Clive Bird

Clive Bird

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am a novice when it comes to AV and I would appreciate any help on finding impartial information regarding the decision between Plasma, Projector or LCD. I want to replace my 56” rear projection TV (some I can connect my PC) so I would like some Large.
    The new screen will be used with DVD, Sky & PC any suggestions where I could get impartial information?

2. Phil_Yeoman

Phil_Yeoman
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    Need to ask some questions before I can comment

• Whats your budget?
    • What size is your viewing room?
    • does closing the curtains to watch TV bother you?
    • What screen area are you looking at?
    • Do you have a surround setup in your viewing room?

Phil

3. Clive Bird

Clive Bird

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    budget: about £6000

Room size 5m X 4.5m

The room has no windows! (converted double garage)

Screen min of 50"- Iam used to a 56" rear projection TV

Suround set up - Dennon AVC-AID, B&W 603 fronts, JBL centre, Mission rears & REL Q100 sub.

Clive

4. GaryG

GaryG
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    With a completely dark room CRT is going to take some beating for picture quality. Both LCD and DLP will be brighter and sharper but have compromises with regard to black level and the visibility of the structure of the panel used to form the picture (chicken wire effect). You may also find that you are sensitive to the colour seperation effect of DLP (rainbows) projectors. I don't think a plasma will do such a large room justice it's just not big enough.