1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Plasma v DLP

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by YorkieAnd, May 19, 2005.

1. YorkieAnd

YorkieAnd
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, I've been thinking of buying a plasma for a while now and have been waiting for the new panasonic 500 series to come out and see what customers think. I am a bit of a novice compared to most of you people when it comes to the techie side of things but want something around 42" that is "HD ready". However yesterday I popped in to Comet and was drawn to the Sagem 45" DLP. I was really just looking but was soon approached by the salesman who told me that it was the best TV in the shop and the technology was much better than plasma. Now I know these guys will tell you anything to get a sale. However the picture, which he told me was a HD picture, was absolutely brilliant. Unfortunately I've not seen a HD picture on a plasma screen yet to compare.
    I was just wondering what people on here, with more knowledge of the two technologies than me, think is the better.
    Thanks for any help.

2. YorkieAnd

YorkieAnd
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Any help out there? Please!

3. Orangelo

Orangelo

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have no doubt that DLP is THE technology when it comes to front projection. Cinemas across the world (across the US should I say :rolleyes: ) are using DLP digital projecting units that mount the 2K cinema chips.

However, I would not buy the Sagem. It is not the technology, it's the "rear projection inside a box" concept that I don't like.

4. TonyA

TonyA

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +217