1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Plasma system, would appreciate help

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Sprout Crumble, Dec 19, 2004.

  1. Sprout Crumble

    Sprout Crumble
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2001
    Messages:
    228
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Right, first off, I'm going to be spending a lot of time working abroad over the next five years, so I'm not going ballistic with kit until I finished that. To that end I'm looking at;

    Panasonic SD panel. Always been a fan. Will be viewed from around 14ft away and fed DVD and Telewest cable (maybe Xbox as well). Has anyone seen any real world differences between the 7 and 6 series panels and which of the two 7 series SD variants are superior?
    HDMI isn't a problem really, and would rather sit back and wait for the whole Sky fiasco to sort itself out. Not a huge Hitachi or LG fan and definitely not going big bucks at the moment on an expensive screen as the next couple of years will have great changes in flat panel technology.

    Yamaha 750/Denon 2805. Is the latter worth the extra? Never listen to the radio and movie sounds are a priority. I'd like to have a single cable go to the Panny and have the amp do all the switching around. Audio delay would seem prudent. Any other options?

    Speakers 6.1. Need some help here. My living room has an audio flaw.
    The main listening position has its right side tight to a projecting wall, so where do I put the rear surround? (In plan, imagine a vertical rectangle with a square in the bottom right corner with the chair directly to the left facing up to the plasma). Its not realistic to move it, so do you think something like FS1AV's with their more relaxed siting needs would be more suitable? I understand that Kef Eggs and Gallos etc, are better, but what about when the room shape becomes a limiting factor?

    Projector. Hot favourite is the Sanyo Z3 (free screen 71" from nexnix). Its going on a coffee table and the flexibility of it looks ideal. Image quality is great. HS50 may be better but too much more money. Screen will be 70-80" from around 7ft away from the projector. Anyone seen a Z3 in silver or are they all black?

    All will be fed from a HCPC (A64,1gb,400gb,9700pro).

    Going to have to buy in the next couple of days so would be very grateful for any views, particularly on the amps ability to control switching and the connections to the plasma and projector.
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Plasma i reconmend PWD6 with compoonent for DVD and JS RGB>VGA for Sky http://www.av-sales.co.uk/plasma/html/panasonic_th-42pwd6_plasma.html
    If you want to feed Sky/Sky+ to both displays you will either need some heavy duty distribition kit can get SDI modded Sky+ box feed that into SDI capture card on PC and use PC to Feed PJ (keep usual outputs for plasma)
     
  3. grahamtriggs

    grahamtriggs
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    779
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +33
    Fiasco? Not from Sky's point of view. OK, they have apparently altered their original proposals, but there is nothing unusual or unexpected / unpredictable from their announcement. 720p and 1080i supported (the two important standard HD resolutions) at the obvious 50hz refresh rate, and with HDCP protection (which would be a necessity for certain content).

    Maybe they could and should have had HD analogue component output. If you are very lucky, maybe they still will - for some (although not all) content. But with that exception, do not expect the specifications for Sky's HDTV service to change before launch.

    The only fiasco is that some companies choose to release products that do not have the support on their digital interfaces that do not support the formats that would (obviously) be required for Europe/UK. What is a fiasco is that they intended / intended to ship digital interfaces that because of this are in clear breach of the specifications for those interfaces. But none of that has anything to do with Sky.

    If you want a screen that will be compatible with Sky's HD service, you can buy them now. If you choose to buy a screen that is not compatible with current announcements, you will almost certainly have to buy a new screen beforce you can use Sky's HD service.

    I'm not saying you should choose one way or another - that is something entirely up to you. But that is the reality of the choice you are making. Just don't try and suggest that the blame lies with Sky - the blame lies squarely with the manufacturers who have failed to implement in their digital interfaces what they should have done all along.
     
  4. Sprout Crumble

    Sprout Crumble
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2001
    Messages:
    228
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Graham, I didn't blame Sky. If you re-read I said the 'whole' Sky fiasco which it is. No blame apportioned to Sky or the manufacturers in particular, although I fail to see how Sky comes out of this well. It appears from Sagems comments that Sky have moved the goalposts at a late stage. Irrespective, I'm not prepared to buy a panel I'm not happy with image-wise to suit something thats a couple of years away from being a must-buy. Better to hedge my bets now with a panel I like and rebuy when its settled down. As I said, I'll only be in the UK for around 20% of the year for the next 5 years due to a new contract so its no big deal for me at the moment.

    Hornydragon, I only really want a single cable fed to the projector as well as the plasma. Will the amp not be able to handle directing the various signals around?
    Ideally just want everything plugged into the amp. Is this possible?
     
  5. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    difficult mate PC over component will look pants.... BEST idea is PC to PJ via DVi/VGA and run DVD from PC and Sky via PC capture. then use AMP to route video to plasma..Where in the UK are you? MAW has done a few dual display systems... they are not easy but can be done, drop him a line...
    you can run dual displays of an AV amp but need a distribution amp to the 2 outputs and to include a PC to both you would need component and DVi cables... can be done but needs some thought speak to a specialist dealer MAW and Joe F are they guys to do this really.
     
  6. grahamtriggs

    grahamtriggs
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    779
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +33
    If you are happy to buy another screen when you are ready to go to HDTV, then fine - as I said, it's your choice to make.

    Yes, it appears Sky changed their proposals. But there are some caveats to that:

    1) Their initial proposals were *proposals*, it wasn't a formal specification.

    2) What they announced was based entirely on accepted *standards*. They aren't trying to force anything new or unusual on manufacturers - these are all things that they could and should have been prepared for.

    3) Sky's hands are tied. Name a movie studio that is going to hand over HD transfers for broadcast on a system that doesn't implement copy protection? By the time it comes to 'terrestrial' rights, that might not be a problem - but they sure as hell aren't going to allow early PPV broadcasts to be unprotected. Same goes for PPV sports events. Sky can't launch a HDTV system for which they can't get content - or where the content would cost ridiculously large amounts to offset the lack of protection.

    Sagems comments are - IMHO - a very weak get out clause. How many DVD players are there with DVI output that don't implement HDCP? How many HD-DVD or Blu-Ray players are going to implement DVI (or HDMI) without HDCP? If they are so concerned about their DVI interface being usable for consumer applications, then they should have implemented HDCP anyway. Or are we / they saying that all consumer applications should use the analogue component interface?
     

Share This Page

Loading...