1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Plasma & Sky +

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Shagga, Jan 6, 2004.

  1. Shagga

    Shagga
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    261
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Middlesex
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi All,
    New to this forum & home cinema so please go easy on me. I have just got a Samsung 42" Plasma and have it linked to Sky + and a Samsung surround sound system. I've read that a few of you are having pq problems (I'm not at the mo) but I am having a lip-sync problem intermittently. Have any of you encountered this and if so can you help resolve it..? It's a European model so doesn't have scart. What's the best way to connect the three gaining maximum performance..?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Cag

    Cag
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +9
    Is you Sky PQ V.good, good, average!!!
     
  3. itcosthowmuch

    itcosthowmuch
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2003
    Messages:
    396
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    sussex
    Ratings:
    +62
    welcome Shagga - lip-sync is indeed a problem with Sky. To deal with this I run mine through an AV receiver that allows me to delay the audio signal.

    What inputs does the plasma have if it doesn't have scart?

    M
     
  4. DaveCheltenham

    DaveCheltenham
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2002
    Messages:
    384
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Cheltenham
    Ratings:
    +47
    itcosthowmuch Don't understand why it is just a problem with Sky? Sky platform transmissions through a CRT system are normally in perfect sync. Additional picture delays sometime happen with Sky+ but this can usually be corrected by pausing and resuming on a recorded programme.

    Regards
     
  5. itcosthowmuch

    itcosthowmuch
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2003
    Messages:
    396
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    sussex
    Ratings:
    +62
    Dave - sorry I was meaning sky+.......I have noticed it more since having my plasma installed. This maybe caused by the amount of time the plasma takes to process video. I use to notice it before on my old CRT but not as much as on the plasma, I guess the size of the plasma merely makes the lip-sync issue more obvious. A large TV magnifies the picture and improves viewing, but it also magnifies any imperfections.

    Cheers

    M
     
  6. Shagga

    Shagga
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    261
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Middlesex
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Guys,
    Thanks for all the advice.
    Cag: PQ on Sky + prior tp plasma was perfect. It now suffers from pixelisation and the lip-sync problem.

    itcosthowmuch: All of the inputs on my screen are composite...? Red, White & Yellow.

    Somebody suggested going down the s-vhs route but I can't see that helping. When I'm watching anything on PR1 on the plasma the picture is blotchy and not too sharp. When I switch to AV1 or AV2 the picture quality increases no end. I have a freebie 32" FX68 Sony TV coming next week and I may revert back to that just for an easy life.
    There's me thinking this would be a plug 'n' play device.
    Baron McCann have taken my plasma away and say that the issue can be resolved with a software upgrade.....????????
     
  7. Cag

    Cag
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +9
    Shagga
    Mine was the same & have cancelled my agreement. From looking at posts etc. it all depends on the product u buy
     
  8. Shagga

    Shagga
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    261
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Middlesex
    Ratings:
    +1
    Cag,
    You cancelled which agreement...? Sky..?
     
  9. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Shagga, S-VHS should be a very noticeable upgrade on composite, as should a digital connection to you surround sound if that can be managed. For such a low hassle thing to do, it makes sense. Can't promise it'll help with lip synch though.
     
  10. Shagga

    Shagga
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    261
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Middlesex
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks MAW. I am asking Barron McCann if the board can be upgraded to include SCART....Fingers crossed.
     
  11. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Doesn't it have a mini din s-vhs input?
     
  12. Shagga

    Shagga
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    261
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Middlesex
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yes, 4 pin, looks like a small ps/2..?
     
  13. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    That's the man, you can plug sky+ or DVD straight into it, much much better than composite. I wouldn't expect miracles from your plasma, but I guarantee that'll help the picture massively, even with a quite basic cable.
     
  14. Shagga

    Shagga
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    261
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Middlesex
    Ratings:
    +1
    Cheers all,
    I'll fiddle with it tonight.
     
  15. Cag

    Cag
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +9
    Shagga
    Was the Plasma Tv agreement. It was faulted anyway with V. loud buzzing noise
     
  16. Shagga

    Shagga
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    261
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Middlesex
    Ratings:
    +1
    Cag,
    What do you mean..?
     
  17. Cag

    Cag
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +9
    I didn't cancel Sky but the Sky plasma tv deal they were doing?

    Thinking about getting the Hit 42PD3000
     
  18. Shagga

    Shagga
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    261
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Middlesex
    Ratings:
    +1
    Oh I'm with you now..
     

Share This Page

Loading...