1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Plasma screen problem... Black vertical band

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by BliarOut, May 21, 2005.

1. BliarOut

BliarOut

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hiya, newbie here and my first post is one of woe...... My plasma TV has just gone kinda pop!

It's a 42" Techwood and until today it's been just fine.

It hasn't totally blown, but I was watching it (During the cup final!) and a black vertical band just appeared on the screen at the same time as a flash of lightning occured outside. I think I may have heard a quiet "pop" as it went. I was watching through cable, so the only possibility of a surge is through the power supply. This black band is about 1 1/2" wide around 6" from the right of the screen. I've done the usual power off stuff to no avail and now she's staying switched off as it's still there.

Now I know nothing about TV, but it's as if there's probably twenty things that fire light/electricity/photons/magic fairy dust magic fairy dust vertically and just one of those has gone pop.

Two questions.

Does it sound terminal/expensive as it's not under warranty?

Is it a home insurance claim? The band appeared at exactly the same time as a flash of lightening.

Any thoughts appreciated. I can't do anything about it until Monday now as the repair shop/insurance companies are shut :(

2. ukdan

ukdan

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +84
    Dont mention the storm if you make a warrenty claim!

3. BliarOut

BliarOut

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's not under warranty... That's why I was going to claim on the house insurance unless it's an inexpensive fix.

Just have no idea on a likely cost at the mo.

4. pjclark1

pjclark1

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +271