• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Plasma screen connecting to a pc problem

BigRobCoUk

Standard Member
:hiya:

Hello peeps.

A newbie here.

Just got my new LG50PC55 and so far am pretty chuffed with it.

I have been using the laptop on it via the VGA lead and its been cracking for watching films and stuff.

So I have just upgraded my desktop to a nice shiney black case to us as a media center on the tv.

I am having some slight problems though and wondered if anyone has any Ideas.

THe laptop has worked fine using the same lead I am using on the desktop. so I think that is fine,

When I plug in the PC it comes up with the XP splash screen but as it goes to the login screen it goes blank and the TV displays no signal.

So I thought it was finger trouble on my behalf so I checked it all out and connected it back the the 21 inch CRT monitor (using the same lead again)

And it is working fine.

So I unpluged the lead plugged it into the tele then selected the PC input with the remote gadget and again no signal.

If I boot up the PC in safe mode it works.reen

The Graphics card is an NVIDIA 32 MB thing and only has the high density 15 pin d plug connector on it. So nothing to fancy on that end.

So it all seems fine but no picture/signal.

Im not sure whether there are any setting i need to change on the graphics card. (not sure how too either) Or Whether I need a driver for the plasma screen.

Hope someone can help.

Thanks in advance.

Rob

:lease:

:arty: :arty: :arty: :arty: :arty: :arty: :arty: :arty: :arty:

Canti1982

The problem could be that its outputting a resolution that the screen does not like, maybe something like 800x600 though not sure. The graphics drivers have probably not kicked in at this point so will not output the correct resolution.