plasma screen, connect to dvd ??

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by bodoman, Aug 20, 2006.

  1. bodoman

    bodoman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    4,129
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Welwyn Garden City
    Ratings:
    +1,855
    i would be gratful if someone would be so kind as to inform what is the best way to connect my dvd (panasonic sc-dt300) to a panasonic tx60 plasma screen (being delivered tomorrow)

    the outputs on the dvd is video out (phono) or S Video, at the moment its connected to my crt tv via video out, single phono from the dvd to scart adapter on the tv, sound is taken care by a dedicated flat cable to the separate sound sound receiver.

    Many thanks
     
  2. D65

    D65
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    440
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    netherlands
    Ratings:
    +24
    Don't you have a scart socket on the dvd player?

    List of connections(best first)

    HDMI
    COMPONENT VIDEO
    RGB(through scart)
    COMPOSITE VIDEO(S video)
     
  3. bodoman

    bodoman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    4,129
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Welwyn Garden City
    Ratings:
    +1,855
    Thanks for the info, but no the only connections are the phono marked video out and the s video socket.

    which leaves me still a bit confused to what lead in need to get and what connection is the best to use.

    many thanks
     
  4. D65

    D65
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    440
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    netherlands
    Ratings:
    +24
    Take the s video, it's the better one.

    What dvd player do you have?
     
  5. bodoman

    bodoman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    4,129
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Welwyn Garden City
    Ratings:
    +1,855
    thanks for that dimmie
    the dvd is part of a dvd surround sound system panasonic SC-DT300,2 years old the dvd player is a separate box, connected to the surround sound amp box via a dedicated flat cable.
    the only connection to the tv is via a phono lead from the video out, the sound is channelled through the surround sound amp via the flat cable.

    I suppose i will know more when i get the plasma, but i assume it will have an s video input

    hope i dont have to get a new dvd for best results as i had to do a lot of convincing to you know who, that a plasma screen was only thing that would make life worth living and bring unbridled joy to the marriage.

    thanks again
     
  6. D65

    D65
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    440
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    netherlands
    Ratings:
    +24
    You probably won't have to buy a new dvd player, s video is pretty ok. it's almost as good as rgb(through a scart cable)

    the video output will be dissappointing I think, on a big screen.

    Let me know how it turned out

    dimitri
     
  7. bodoman

    bodoman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    4,129
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Welwyn Garden City
    Ratings:
    +1,855
    Thanks dimitri
    I will let you know how its works out.
    but i have to pay a heavy price for getting the plasma, i have to decorate our home before i hook it it up, which is about 3 weeks time, but i will have to have a peek in the box now and again.

    kind regards

    barry
     
  8. Neil J B

    Neil J B
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    81
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    You may need an upscaler to get the best image quality.
     
  9. bodoman

    bodoman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    4,129
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Welwyn Garden City
    Ratings:
    +1,855
    Thanks Neil
    Sorry to be so green with all this, but have you any info on an upscaler, ie
    what do they do, who makes them etc.

    Regards

    Barry
     
  10. serial killer

    serial killer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    131
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +16
    upscaling dvd players will take a normal dvd and upscale it to near hi def resoultion so it will look its best on your new hd tv. they start around 100 i would recommend one to get the best out of your tv
     
  11. bodoman

    bodoman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    4,129
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Welwyn Garden City
    Ratings:
    +1,855
    mucho gracias amigo
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice