1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Plasma repair shop

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by tman, Aug 4, 2005.

  1. tman

    tman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Messages:
    974
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +98
    My Panasonic plasma has developed a fault, and is out of warranty. Anyone recommend a (reasonably priced) repair company in the South?

    I really, really cannot live without my plasma. I'm gutted, and would like to get it repaired.

    Cheers
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    just phone or use panny online to locate local service centres and then ring them for quotes etc.
     
  3. Clabs

    Clabs
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    135
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    How old is your screen, Tman? As well as statutary warranty, you have the right of a piece of equipment to last a "reasonable period of time" - depending on the quality of the original quality of the equipment. For example, if you bought a £60 portable from Argos and it went wrong out of warranty, you'd chuck it in the skip and buy another. But if the equipment was high end, you'd expect it to last a little longer!

    I succesfully got Pioneer to contribute towards the repair of a tv I had had after it developed a fault after aprox 16 months. Mind you - I did need to threaten to take them to court before they would entertain me!

    Hpe this helps, Mark
     
  4. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,694
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +606
    Being the PW4 I would have thought at least 3 years and probably nearer 4 years old.

    What is it doing/not doing exactly?
     
  5. tman

    tman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Messages:
    974
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +98
    Thanks for the suggestion regarding repair. The screen's just under 3 years old, and has been working faultlessly in that time.

    Earlier this week, the problem started where the screen would being to tear and break up from the bottom of the screen, working it's way up to the middle, then the screen would just go black with 'No Signal' displayed. It would then occasionaly flash. If you turned if off for a few minutes, then back on, it would be ok, but only for maybe another 10 minutes when it would do it again.

    I don't think it's power related, as the plasma doesn't turn itself off, or the power light doesn't flash. It seems to be triggered by temperature, i.e. when the plasma gets up to full operating temp. It all happens over all inputs (VGA, component), so I guess it's a video board problem. I've got the standard 4 series component board in the panel.

    I did what I could, took the back off, removed all dust (just in case), but I'm not an electrician. I did notice that even though the VGA connector is not on the add-in board, it still feeds into the main video board in the centre of the unit, so this could be the culprit.

    You should have seen the colour drain from my face when I saw it happen for the first time! I was completely distraught. This is MY plasma, and I know it's a few years old now, but the picture is still awesome (when it works), and I've no intention of replacing it yet, besides, I don't have the money now.

    God knows how much it's going to cost to get repaired. I'm going to ring round this morning and get some quotes.
     
  6. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    are the fans still working?
     
  7. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,694
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +606
    Who is your household insurance company!?
     
  8. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    i wouldnt go that route if possible as you will get a PWD7 or PWD8 (more likely a Veira PE50)
     
  9. tman

    tman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Messages:
    974
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +98
    hornydragon, no fans in the 4 series. There is a good airflow around the plasma (it's on a desktop stand). I've checked the temp numerous times before, and it's only ever got mildly warm.

    Gizlaroc, do you really think I could get this through on household insurance??? I thought that only covered accidental damage!
     
  10. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    I cant remeber which series they dropped frans from SD screens i thought the 4 series still had them.........
     
  11. Jazz Monkey Jr

    Jazz Monkey Jr
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    13,809
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Garstang, Lancs
    Ratings:
    +1,523
    Are you not feeling accident prone.... :devil:
     
  12. tman

    tman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Messages:
    974
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +98
    Well, I guess I'd have to speak to the insurers first before I'll decide if I'm feeling accidental or not. I'm pretty sure you have to name items above a certain value (the panel cost £4k new!), and I don't think I did as to not effect the premium too much. Probably second hand value now though is only £400-£500 (depressing), so I might have a chat. Guess I'd have to say at least £1500 though to make sure it covered the cost of a new one. You never know.

    I'll just have to decide what 'accident' I had with it before I call them. That's not as easy as you might imagine!
     
  13. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,694
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +606
    From the fault you had given I presumed that someone had spilt wine donw the back a couple of months ago, and it had been fine but now was playing up.

    Give them the receipt for the original price mate, let them make the first offer.
     
  14. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    but dont let them replace with a "specialist company" get the cash (PHD8 and scaler would be a suitable replacement or just get a repair quote may only be £200 ish..
     
  15. tman

    tman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Messages:
    974
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +98
    red or white? :) Sounds plausible
     
  16. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,694
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +606
    White definitely.
     
  17. gas man

    gas man
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Most insurance companies do "old for new", but if they can't get the exact product they may offer alternatives then it's up to you what you accept.
     

Share This Page

Loading...