1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Plasma Questions

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Rotec, May 10, 2004.

1. Rotec

Rotec
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey! :)

I am hoping to purchase a Panasonic TH42PE30B soon, although various sites are selling this model at less than my local retailer. Hopefully they may honour some sort of price match deal. Well it's worth asking I suppose ... !

Anyway I am relatively new to the plasma market and I understand the basics of what is involved and the issues that are associated with these types of screens. However can you help me out with a few questions? :)

1) What should I look for once the plasma screen arrives? Any defects?
    2) I've read that I should lower the contrast/brightness to a minimum for the first 100hrs - Are there any other aspects that I should keep to a minimum to begin with?
    3) Does burning in lengthen the life of the screen or it is to increase tolerance towards still images displayed for long periods of time?
    4) In the first 100hours can I watch channels with logos (Constantly displayed) for long periods of time (3-4hours)?
    5) Would changing channels when adverts come on help in preventing burn in?
    6) Any way to speed up the burn in process?
    7) Can I increase the brightness/contrast settings to improve picture quality without damaging the screen in the long term (Sub 100hrs of use)?
    8) Are x amount of year warranties worth it? Is the standard manufacturer's warranty one year? Did you purchase an extended warranty?

Thanks for your time and any feedback would be much appreciated - Just for reassurance before I make the plunge! :clap:

L8rs! :thumbsup:

2. tfishuk

tfishuk
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0