1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Plasma purchase help, question with a difference

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Oid, May 11, 2004.

1. Oid

Oid

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

Being new to plasma technology, I'm currently researching a new purchase, was hoping people could help with advice.

My buying situation has somewhat different priorities compared to most people I think. Whilst I am currently in the UK, and looking to but a TV (current one went pop), in around 2 to 4 years I'll be moving abroad... except I don't know where yet :) It may be the US, Canada, or even Australia/NZ...

Whilst relocating with a CRT is a non-starter, I was wondering if I would be able to take a plasma abroad without too many problems? Being a plasma newbie I don't know the details yet, but the issues I assume boils down:

1. If the TV supports multivoltage, i.e. 100->240, else I'll have to buy an expensive voltage converter boxes which I don't like... Of course this only applies to US/Canada, Australia has 240 like us.

2. Whether the TV can work with different signal types. With a lot of them being VGA I though I'd be onto a winner here? Where ever I go I'll probably get cable TV of description, so I'd just need to convert the TV signal (ntsc, various versions of pal, etc) into VGA? Or is it simplier than this?

I'm only just starting to look these issues, but advice is most welcome. Of course I could just buy a cheapish CRT and dump it when I move abroad. But if I can get a nice plasma which I can take with me, then I'd rather do that than waste money on a CRT... Plus I'd get to enjoy the large plasma screen in the meantime.

Cheers
    Oid

2. dcguy

dcguy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0