Plasma pioneer pdp

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by plasterjfe, Aug 4, 2012.

  1. plasterjfe

    plasterjfe
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi People newb here

    Recently purchased the above set after seeing a great offer on a very well reviewed TV. I only run from scart previously from my virgin box and have just set this up until I get the HDMI cables.

    1. The picture is not what I expected - too sharp and edges become angular and blocky - too soft and it becomes a blur with no real quality in the middle and fast moving sports look fuzzy, could this purely be down to the poor cable input from my old virgin box ?

    2. I cant seem to get it to work without the virgin box to cross reference the quality, I run the antenna into the back directly hoping to pick up digi channels but there are none found and no signal - am I doing something obviously wrong?

    At the moment the quality is below that of the tube telly it replaced, I kid you not, surely even on the same cables it should be better. another thing is I notice when watching sports if i take a still using the dvb button on the remote the small half sized action is much crisper and cleaner than when in full screen ? ? ? ? ?

    Please help confused "maybe im getting old" person

    Thanks
     
  2. redaprilia

    redaprilia
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    931
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +120
    You don't say how old this TV is but in principle the screen will only display pictures as good as it receives therefor scart input from a cable box is likely to be compromised , have a drive to to your local 24 Tesco and get a HDMI cable and drive the screen this way then judge it !
     
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2012
  3. plasterjfe

    plasterjfe
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Pal

    Its the 427xd so i guess older than 5/6 yrs - Maybe it does not even have built in digi tuner? being this age.

    I need a new dvd player also with hdmi any recommendations on a partner for this set

    Thanks
     
  4. redaprilia

    redaprilia
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    931
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +120
    That model has a built in Digital tuner so assuming that you feed it with a good aerial signal it should tune in . Almost any Bluray player ( also plays traditional DVD's ) will be good but the excellent Panasonic DMP-BD77 is there cheapest machine . If you go fore one of the new recorder then you can watch Freeview HD via the recorder .
     
  5. plasterjfe

    plasterjfe
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Great, so most or all blueray players will play dvd yeah or at least the panasonic model mentioned?
     
  6. redaprilia

    redaprilia
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    931
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +120
    All bluray players will play DVD & Audio CD & generally most will play .jpg pictures , MP3 Audio & AVCHD HD video that have been recorded to blank discs . In other words they play most / everything LOL
     
  7. Orson

    Orson
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    3,286
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Sunny Ilson, pride of Derbyshire!
    Ratings:
    +669
    <<< Thread Moved >>>
     
  8. plasterjfe

    plasterjfe
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks thats brill. got some good prices on the panasonic on the net.
     
  9. plasterjfe

    plasterjfe
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The digi tuner is working now, for some reason I have to coax in the loft both plugged in for it to work but only one plug in the living room the upstairs is on a totally separate route so not sure what the two are for but hey it works.

    still a cagey picture tho, on fast moving images the edges of faces are fuzzy and sports still a problem moving crowd in the background is just a blur

    Not what I expected at all but can live with it until I sort my hdmi connections plus new virgin box
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice